Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Area Designations for the 2012 Annual Fine Particle (PM2.5) Standard

Initial Designations for Tribes

On December 18, 2014, the EPA issued final area designations for the 2012 annual national air quality standard for fine particulate matter (PM2.5). EPA strengthened the annual fine particle standard to 12 micrograms per cubic meter (µg/m3) in 2012.  After working closely with the states, and some tribes, EPA is completing the routine Clean Air Act process to identify areas as either “nonattainment”, “unclassifiable/attainment”, or “unclassifiable” based on air quality monitoring data from 2011-2013. Once designations are effective, they guide actions states, tribes and EPA must take to improve or preserve air quality in each area.  EPA will work with the states and tribes to share the responsibility of reducing fine particle pollution. 

The table below lists the final designations for tribes participating in the designations for the 2012 annual fine particle pollution standard.  All of the tribal lands except for areas of Indian country of the Pechanga Band of Luiseno Mission Indians are designated as part of the surrounding state areas.

EPA is designating all other areas of the country “unclassifiable/attainment.”  These areas have monitoring data that shows they meet the standard or EPA has reviewed available data and determined they are likely to be meeting the standard and not contributing to a nearby violation.

Tribe 2014 EPA Designation
Big Sandy Rancheria Nonattainment
Cahuilla Band of Indians Nonattainment
Catawba Unclassifiable/Attainment
Cherokee Unclassifiable/Attainment
Choctaw Unclassifiable/Attainment
Coeur d'Alene Unclassifiable/Attainment
Cold Springs Rancheria Nonattainment
Eastern Shoshone Tribe Unclassifiable/Attainment
Fond du Lac Reservation Unclassifiable/Attainment
Forest County Potawatomi Community Unclassifiable/Attainment
Gila River Indian Community Unclassifiable/Attainment
Greenville Rancheria Unclassifiable/Attainment
Miccosukee Unclassifiable/Attainment
Morongo Band of Mission Indians Nonattainment
North Fork Rancheria Nonattainment
Northern Arapaho Tribe Unclassifiable/Attainment
Pala Band of Mission Indians Unclassifiable/Attainment
Pechanga Band of Luiseno Mission Indians Unclassifiable/Attainment
Picayune Rancheria Nonattainment
Poarch Unclassifiable/Attainment
Quechan Indian Tribe Unclassifiable/Attainment
Ramona Band of Cahuilla Indians Nonattainment
Salt River Pima Maricopa Indian Community Unclassifiable/Attainment
San Manuel Band of Serrano Mission Indians Nonattainment
Santa Rosa Band of Cahuilla Indians Unclassifiable/Attainment
Santa Rosa Rancheria Tachi Yokut Tribe Nonattainment
Seminole Unclassifiable/Attainment
Shoshone-Bannock Unclassifiable/Attainment
Soboba Band of Luiseno Indians Nonattainment
Table Mountain Rancheria Nonattainment
Torres Martinez Desert Cahuilla Indians Unclassifiable/Attainment
Tule River Indian Tribe Nonattainment
32 Tribes 20 unclassifiable/attainment, 12 nonattainment


State designations are available on the State Designations page.

Recommendations from Tribes and EPA Responses


Jump to main content.