Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Region 9

Pacific Southwest, Region 9

Serving: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands, Tribal Nations

Air Quality Analysis

Region 9 Federal Class 1 Areas

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA's PDF page to learn more about PDF, and for a link to the free Adobe Reader.

Class 1 federal lands include areas such as national parks, national wilderness areas, and national monuments. These areas are granted special air quality protections under Section 162(a) of the federal Clean Air Act.

40 CFR section 51.307 requires the operator of any new major stationary source or major modification that may affect visibility in Class I areas to provide written notification, including the visibility analysis and all information relevant to their permit application, to Federal Land Managers (FLMs) for that area. Learn more about Federal Land Manager Notification of New Source Review (NSR) Permit Applications.

Federal Class 1 Areas in Region 9

Map of Region 9 Federal Class 1 Areas

E-mail Fletcher Clover (clover.fletcher@epa.gov) with questions.

Jump to main content.