Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Area Designations for 1997 Fine Particle (PM2.5) Standards

1997 PM2.5 Standards — Region 9 State Designations

Information provided for informational purposes only Note: EPA no longer updates this information, but it may be useful for historical purposes. See the PM Designations Home Page for more recent information about PM Designations.

Boundary Designations for the 1997 PM2.5 Standard - EPA Region 9

Map showing PM2.5 designations for 1997 standard for Region 9 Map legend

This table identifies all counties EPA has designated as nonattainment. In some cases EPA designated partial counties. These are identified by a (P). If a county is not listed below, EPA has designated it as unclassifiable/attainment.

State Area Name Counties
Arizona Entire state is attainment/unclassifiable
California* Los Angeles-South Coast Air Basin, CA Los Angeles (P)
Riverside (P)
San Bernardino(P)
San Joaquin Valley, CA Fresno
Kern (P)
San Joaquin
Hawaii Entire state is attainment/unclassifiable
Nevada Entire state is attainment/unclassifiable
*See correspondence related to the April, 2005 supplemental notice for information about changes to designations since the December, 2004 action.

Region 9 Recommendations and EPA Responses

Jump to main content.