Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact EPA Pacific Southwest

Pacific Southwest, Region 9

Serving: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands, Tribal Nations

Brownfields Grants

Purpose To provide funding to governmental agencies and non-profits to assess or cleanup Brownfield sites in an effort to encourage reuse of contaminated or potentially contaminated sites.
Eligible Applicants States, cities, towns, counties, U.S. Territories, Indian tribes and nonprofit organizations are eligible to apply. 
Award Amount Assessment: up to $400,000; Cleanup: $200,000 per grant; Coalition Assessments; up to $750,000; RLF: $1M per applicant
Total Awarded in Fiscal Year $62.5 mil nationally in FY13:
CA - $62.5 mil.
HI - $400,000
NV - $1 mil.
Matching Share

Assessment: None
Cleanup/RLF: 20%

Key Dates:
Application Due;

Due: Fall 2013
Selection: Spring 2014
Priorities Proposals are scored based on:
  • Community Need
  • Strength of Project Description
  • Budget & Leveraging
  • Programmatic capability
  • Community engagement & partnerships
  • Project Benefits to the community.

See website for more info
Brownfields Funding Information

Contact Person
EPA Office/Division
Noemi Emeric-Ford (emeric-ford.noemi@epa.gov)
Brownfields Program
(213) 244-1821

Jump to main content.