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GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a) 	 Duty to Comply 

The permittee must comply with all conditions of this permit.  Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of Chapter 46-12 of the Rhode Island General Laws and the Clean Water 
Act (CWA) and is grounds for enforcement action; for permit termination, revocation and 
reissuance, or modification; or for denial of a permit renewal application. 

(1) 	 The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or prohibitions established under 
Section 307(a) of the CWA for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the regulations 
that establish these standards or prohibitions, even if the permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement. 

(2) 	 The CWA provides that any person who violates a permit condition implementing 
Sections 301, 302, 306, 307, 308, 318, or 405 of the CWA is subject to a civil penalty not 
to exceed $10,000 per day of such violation.  Any person who willfully or negligently 
violates permit conditions implementing Sections 301, 302, 306, 307 or 308 of the Act is 
subject to a fine of not less than $2,500 nor more than $25,000 per day of violation, or by 
imprisonment of not more than 1 year, or both. 

(3) 	 Chapter 46-12 of the Rhode Island General Laws provides that any person who violates a 
permit condition is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $5,000 per day of such 
violation. Any person who willfully or negligently violates a permit condition is subject 
to a criminal penalty of not more than $10,000 per day of such violation and 
imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or both.  Any person who knowingly makes any 
false statement in connection with the permit is subject to a criminal penalty of not more 
than $5,000 for each instance of violation or by imprisonment for not more than 30 days, 
or both. 

(b) 	 Duty to Reapply 

If the permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date 
of this permit, the permittee must apply for and obtain a new permit.  The permittee shall submit 
a new application at least 180 days before the expiration date of the existing permit, unless 
permission for a later date has been granted by the Director.  (The Director shall not grant 
permission for applications to be submitted later than the expiration date of the existing permit.) 

(c)	 Need to Halt or Reduce Not a Defense 

It shall not be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have been 
necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the 
conditions of this permit. 

(d) 	 Duty to Mitigate 

The permittee shall take all reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any discharge in violation of 
this permit which has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment. 
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(e) Proper Operation and Maintenance 

The permittee shall at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and systems of 
treatment and control (and related appurtenances) which are installed or used by the permittee to 
achieve compliance with the conditions of this permit.  Proper operation and maintenance also 
includes adequate laboratory controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures, and, where 
applicable, compliance with DEM "Rules and Regulations Pertaining to the Operation and 
Maintenance  of Wastewater Treatment Facilities" and "Rules and Regulations Pertaining to the 
Disposal and Utilization of Wastewater Treatment Facility Sludge."  This provision requires the 
operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or similar systems only when the operation is 
necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit.

 (f) Permit Actions 

This permit may be modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause, including but not 
limited to:  (1) Violation of any terms or conditions of this permit; (2) Obtaining this permit by 
misrepresentation or failure to disclose all relevant facts; or (3) A change in any conditions that 
requires either a temporary or permanent reduction or elimination of the authorized discharge. 
The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and reissuance, or 
termination or a notification of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance, does not stay any 
permit condition. 

(g) Property Rights 

This permit does not convey any property rights of any sort, or any exclusive privilege. 

(h) Duty to Provide Information 

The permittee shall furnish to the Director, within a reasonable time, any information which the 
Director may request to determine whether cause exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, 
or terminating this permit, or to determine compliance with this permit.  The permittee shall also 
furnish to the Director, upon request, copies of records required to be kept by this permit. 

(i) Inspection and Entry 

The permittee shall allow the Director, or an authorized representative, upon the presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law, to: 

(1) Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated facility or activity is located or 
conducted, or where records must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

(2) Have access to and copy, at reasonable times any records that must be kept under the 
conditions of this permit; 

(3) Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment (including monitoring and control 
equipment), practices or operations regulated or required under this permit; and 
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(4) 	 Sample or monitor any substances or parameters at any location, at reasonable times, for 
the purposes of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by the CWA or 
Rhode Island law. 

(j) 	 Monitoring and Records 

(1) 	Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of monitoring shall be representative of 
the volume and nature of the discharge over the sampling and reporting period. 

(2) 	 The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring information, including all calibration 
and maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings from continuous 
monitoring instrumentation, copies of all reports required by this permit, and records of 
all data used to complete the application for this permit, for a period of at least 5 years 
from the date of the sample, measurement, report or application.  This period may be 
extended by request of the Director at any time. 

(3) 	 Records of monitoring information shall include:

 (i) 	 The date, exact place, and time of sampling or measurements; 

(ii) 	 The individual(s) who performed the sampling or measurements; 

(iii) 	 The date(s) analyses were performed; 

(iv)	 The individual(s) who performed the analyses;

 (v)	 The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

(vi)	 The results of such analyses. 

(4) 	 Monitoring must be conducted according to test procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 
136 and applicable Rhode Island regulations, unless other test procedures have been 
specified in this permit. 

(5) 	 The CWA provides that any person who falsifies, tampers with, or knowingly renders 
inaccurate, any monitoring device or method required to be maintained under this permit 
shall upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000 per violation or by 
imprisonment for not more than 6 months per violation or by both.  Chapter 46-12 of the 
Rhode Island General Laws also provides that such acts are subject to a fine of not more 
than $5,000 per violation, or by imprisonment for not more than 30 days per violation, or 
by both. 

(6) 	 Monitoring results must be reported on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). 

(7) 	 If the permittee monitors any pollutant more frequently than required by the permit, using 
test procedures approved under 40 CFR Part 136, applicable State regulations, or as 
specified in the permit, the results of this monitoring shall be included in the calculation 
and reporting of the data submitted in the DMR. 
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 (k) 	Signatory Requirement 

All applications, reports, or information submitted to the Director shall be signed and certified in 
accordance with Rule 12 of the Rhode Island Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (RIPDES) 
Regulations.  Rhode Island General Laws, Chapter 46-12 provides that any person who 
knowingly makes any false statement, representation, or certification in any record or other 
document submitted or required to be maintained under this permit, including monitoring reports 
or reports of compliance or noncompliance shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not 
more than $5,000 per violation, or by imprisonment for not more than 30 days per violation, or 
by both. 

(l) 	Reporting Requirements 

(1)	 Planned changes. The permittee shall give notice to the Director as soon as possible of 
any planned physical alterations or additions to the permitted facility. 

(2) 	Anticipated noncompliance.  The permittee shall give advance notice to the Director of 
any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity which may result in 
noncompliance with the permit requirements. 

(3)	 Transfers.  This permit is not transferable to any person except after written notice to the 
Director. The Director may require modification or revocation and reissuance of the 
permit to change the name of the permittee and incorporate such other requirements as 
may be necessary under State and Federal law. 

(4) 	Monitoring reports.  Monitoring results shall be reported at the intervals specified 
elsewhere in this permit. 

(5) 	Twenty-four hour reporting.  The permittee shall immediately report any noncompliance 
which may endanger health or the environment by calling DEM at (401) 222-4700 or 
(401) 222-3070 at night. 

A written submission shall also be provided within five (5) days of the time the permittee 
becomes aware of the circumstances.  The written submission shall contain a description 
of the noncompliance and its cause; the period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been corrected, the anticipated time it is 
expected to continue; and steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 
reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The following information must be reported immediately:

 (i) 	 Any unanticipated bypass which causes a violation of any effluent limitation in the 
permit; or 

(ii) 	 Any upset which causes a violation of any effluent limitation in the permit; or 

(iii) 	 Any violation of a maximum daily discharge limitation for any of the pollutants 
specifically listed by the Director in the permit. 

The Director may waive the written report on a case-by-case basis if the oral report has 
been received within 24 hours. 
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(6)	 Other noncompliance.  The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance not 
reported under paragraphs (1), (2), and (5), of this section, at the time monitoring reports 
are submitted.  The reports shall contain the information required in paragraph (l)(5) of 
the section. 

(7)	 Other information.  Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to submit any 
relevant facts in a permit application, or submitted incorrect information in a permit 
application or in any report to the Director, they shall promptly submit such facts or 
information.

 (m) 	Bypass 

"Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams from any portion of a treatment 
facility. 

(1) 	 Bypass not exceeding limitations.  The permittee may allow any bypass to occur which 
does not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential 
maintenance to assure efficient operation.  These bypasses are not subject to the 
provisions of paragraphs (2) and (3) of this section. 

(2)	 Notice. 

(i) 	Anticipated bypass.  If the permittee knows in advance of the need for a bypass, it 
shall submit prior notice, if possible at least ten (10) days before the date of the 
bypass. 

(ii) 	Unanticipated bypass.  The permittee shall submit notice of an unanticipated 
bypass as required in Rule 14.18 of the RIPDES Regulations. 

(3) 	 Prohibition of bypass. 

(i) 	 Bypass is prohibited, and the Director may take enforcement action against a 
permittee for bypass, unless: 

(A) 	 Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, personal injury, or severe 
property damage, where "severe property damage" means substantial 
physical damage to property, damage to the treatment facilities which causes 
them to become inoperable, or substantial and permanent loss of natural 
resources which can reasonably be expected to occur in the absence of a 
bypass.  Severe property damage does not mean economic loss caused by 
delays in production; 

(B) 	There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such as the use of auxiliary 
treatment facilities, retention of untreated wastes, or maintenance during 
normal periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 
adequate backup equipment should have been installed in the exercise of 
reasonable engineering judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and 

(C) 	The permittee submitted notices as required under paragraph (2) of this 
section. 
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(ii)	 The Director may approve an anticipated bypass, after considering its adverse 
effects, if the Director determines that it will meet the three conditions listed above 
in paragraph (3)(i) of this section. 

(n)	 Upset 

"Upset" means an exceptional incident in which there is unintentional and temporary 
noncompliance with technology-based permit effluent limitations because of factors beyond the 
reasonable control of the permittee.  An upset does not include noncompliance to the extent 
caused by operational error, improperly designed treatment facilities, inadequate treatment 
facilities, lack of preventive maintenance, or careless or improper operation. 

(1) 	 Effect of an upset. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action brought for 
noncompliance with such technology-based permit effluent limitations if the requirements 
of paragraph (2) of this section are met.  No determination made during administrative 
review of claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and before an action for 
noncompliance, is final administrative action subject to judicial review. 

(2) 	 Conditions necessary for a demonstration of upset.  A permittee who wishes to establish 
the affirmative defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly signed, 
contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence that: 

(a) 	 An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify the cause(s) of the upset; 

(b) 	 The permitted facility was at the time being properly operated; 

(c) 	 The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required in Rule 14.18 of the 
RIPDES Regulations; and 

(d)	 The permittee complied with any remedial measures required under Rule 14.05 of 
the RIPDES Regulations. 

(3) 	 Burden of proof.  In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to establish the 
occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

(o) 	 Change in Discharge 

All discharges authorized herein shall be consistent with the terms and conditions of this permit. 
Discharges which cause a violation of water quality standards are prohibited.  The discharge of 
any pollutant identified in this permit more frequently than or at a level in excess of that 
authorized shall constitute a violation of the permit.  Any anticipated facility expansions, 
production increases, or process modifications which will result in new, different or increased 
discharges of pollutants must be reported by submission of a new NPDES application at least 
180 days prior to commencement of such discharges, or if such changes will not violate the 
effluent limitations specified in this permit, by notice, in writing, to the Director of such 
changes. Following such notice, the permit may be modified to specify and limit any pollutants 
not previously limited. 
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Until such modification is effective, any new or increased discharge in excess of permit limits or 
not specifically authorized by the permit constitutes a violation.

 (p) Removed Substances 

Solids, sludges, filter backwash, or other pollutants removed in the course of treatment or control 
of wastewaters shall be disposed of in a manner consistent with applicable Federal and State 
laws and regulations including, but not limited to the CWA and the Federal Resource 
Conservation and Recovery Act, 42 U.S.C. §§6901 et seq., Rhode Island General Laws, 
Chapters 46-12, 23-19.1 and regulations promulgated thereunder. 

(q) Power Failures 

In order to maintain compliance with the effluent limitation and prohibitions of this permit, the 
permittee shall either: 

In accordance with the Schedule of Compliance contained in Part I, provide 
an alternative power source sufficient to operate the wastewater control 
facilities; 

or if such alternative power source is not in existence, and no date for its implementation appears 
in Part I, 

Halt reduce or otherwise control production and/or all discharges upon the 
reduction, loss, or failure of the primary source of power to the wastewater 
control facilities. 

(r) Availability of Reports 

Except for data determined to be confidential under paragraph (w) below, all reports prepared in 
accordance with the terms of this permit shall be available for public inspection at the DEM, 291 
Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island.  As required by the CWA, effluent data shall not 
be considered confidential.  Knowingly making any false statement on any such report may 
result in the imposition of criminal penalties as provided for in Section 309 of the CWA and 
under Section 46-12-14 of the Rhode Island General Laws. 

(s) State Laws 

Nothing in this permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any legal action or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties established pursuant to any 
applicable State law.

 (t) Other Laws 

The issuance of a permit does not authorize any injury to persons or property or invasion of 
other private rights, nor does it relieve the permittee of its obligation to comply with any other 
applicable Federal, State, and local laws and regulations. 
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 (u) Severability 

The provisions of this permit are severable, and if any provision of this permit, or the application 
of any provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, the application of such 
provision to other circumstances, and the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.

 (v) Reopener Clause 

The Director reserves the right to make appropriate revisions to this permit in order to 
incorporate any appropriate effluent limitations, schedules of compliance, or other provisions 
which may be authorized under the CWA or State law.  In accordance with Rules 15 and 23 of 
the RIPDES Regulations, if any effluent standard or prohibition, or water quality standard is 
promulgated under the CWA or under State law which is more stringent than any limitation on 
the pollutant in the permit, or controls a pollutant not limited in the permit, then the Director 
may promptly reopen the permit and modify or revoke and reissue the permit to conform to the 
applicable standard. 

(w) Confidentiality of Information 

(1) Any information submitted to DEM pursuant to these regulations may be claimed as 
confidential by the submitter.  Any such claim must be asserted at the time of submission 
in the manner prescribed on the application form or instructions or, in the case of other 
submissions, by stamping the words "confidential business information" on each page 
containing such information.  If no claim is made at the time of submission, DEM may 
make the information available to the pubic without further notice. 

(2) Claims of confidentiality for the following information will be denied:

  (i) The name and address of any permit applicant or permittee; 

  (ii) Permit applications, permits and any attachments thereto; and 

 (iii) NPDES effluent data.

 (x) Best Management Practices 

The permittee shall adopt Best Management Practices (BMP) to control or abate the discharge of 
toxic pollutants and hazardous substances associated with or ancillary to the industrial 
manufacturing or treatment process and the Director may request the submission of a BMP plan 
where the Director determines that a permittee's practices may contribute significant amounts of 
such pollutants to waters of the State.

 (y) Right of Appeal 

Within thirty (30) days of receipt of notice of a final permit decision, the permittee or any 
interested person may submit a request to the Director for an adjudicatory hearing to reconsider 
or contest that decision. The request for a hearing must conform to the requirements of Rule 49 
of the RIPDES Regulations. 
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DEFINITIONS 
1. 	 For purposes of this permit, those definitions contained in the RIPDES Regulations and the 

Rhode Island Pretreatment Regulations shall apply. 

2. 	 The following abbreviations, when used, are defined below. 

cu. M/day or M3/day cubic meters per day 

mg/l milligrams per liter 

ug/l micrograms per liter 

lbs/day pounds per day 

kg/day kilograms per day 

Temp. oC temperature in degrees Centigrade 

Temp. oF temperature in degrees Fahrenheit 

Turb. turbidity measured by the Nephelometric 
Method (NTU) 

TNFR or TSS total nonfilterable residue or total 
  suspended solids 

DO dissolved oxygen 

BOD five-day biochemical oxygen demand unless 
  otherwise specified 

TKN total Kjeldahl nitrogen as nitrogen 

Total N total nitrogen 

NH3-N ammonia nitrogen as nitrogen 

Total P total phosphorus 

COD chemical oxygen demand 

TOC total organic carbon 

Surfactant surface-active agent 

pH a measure of the hydrogen ion concentration 

PCB polychlorinated biphenyl 

CFS cubic feet per second 

MGD million gallons per day 

Oil & Grease Freon extractable material 

Total Coliform total coliform bacteria 

Fecal Coliform total fecal coliform bacteria 

ml/l milliliter(s) per liter 

NO3-N nitrate nitrogen as nitrogen 

NO2-N nitrite nitrogen as nitrogen 

NO3-NO2 combined nitrate and nitrite nitrogen as nitrogen 

C12 total residual chlorine 
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