K.A.R. 28-19-501 OPERATING PERMITS; EMISSIONS LIMITATIONS AND
POLLUTION CONTROL EQUIPMENT FOR CLASS I AND CLASS II OPERATING
PERMITS; CONDITIONS

(a) The owner or operator of an emissions unit or stationary source
may request an operational permit restriction or a permit condition
requiring the use of air pollution control equipment, or both, which
reduce the potential-to-emit of an emissions unit or stationary
source.

(b) Operational restrictions specified in an operating permit shall
reduce the potential-to-emit of an emissions unit or stationary
source 1if:

(1) all restrictions imposed in the operating permit are at
least as stringent as any other applicable limitations or
restrictions contained in the state implementation plan;

(2) the restrictions do not waive, or make less stringent, any
limitations, restrictions or requirements contained in or issued
pursuant to the state implementation plan or that are otherwise
federally enforceable; and

(3) the restrictions are permanent, quantifiable and otherwise
enforceable as a practical matter.

(c) The owner or operator of an emissions unit or stationary source
which is subject to operational restrictions set forth in a class I
or class II operating permit, except as otherwise specifically
required, shall maintain at the stationary source records
demonstrating that the operational restrictions imposed have not been
exceeded. Records shall be updated monthly, no later than the last
day of the following calendar month.

(1) If, at the end of any calendar quarter, the monitored
operational parameters demonstrate that actual operations have
exceeded 85% of the operational restrictions for the past four
calendar quarters, including the most recently completed calendar
quarter, the owner or operator shall report the actual operations to
the department for that period of time. The actual operations shall
be reported in the same units as the operational restrictions
specified in the operating permit. The report shall be submitted to
the department within 45 days of the last day of the month following
the conclusion of the calendar quarter.

(2) Exceeding operational restrictions.
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(A) If, at any time, the actual operations of the emissions unit
or stationary source exceed the operational restrictions specified in
the operating permit, the owner or operator shall notify the
department in writing, the notice to be mailed or delivered the first
working day following discovery of exceeding any operating permit
operational restriction.

(B) Within 60 days of discovery of exceeding the operational
restrictions, the owner or operator of the stationary source shall
submit to the department a compliance plan, signed by a responsible
official, stating those actions being taken by the owner or operator
to assure future compliance with the operational restrictions or to
otherwise bring the stationary source into compliance with the permit
or the Kansas air quality statutes and regulations.

(C) If appropriate, the owner or operator shall also file the
appropriate application for a permit modification or a class I
operating permit within 180 days of discovery of exceeding any
operating permit operational restriction.

(D) Compliance with the requirements of subsection (c) (2) of
this regulation does not shield the owner or operator from
enforcement action for exceeding any operating permit operational
restriction or for other violations of the Kansas air quality act or
regulations.

(d) Except as otherwise authorized by the Kansas air quality
regulations or the operating permit issued to the source, air
pollution control equipment identified in an operating permit shall
reduce the potential-to-emit of an emissions unit or stationary
source, either alone or in conjunction with an operational
restriction, if the owner or operator of the emission unit or
stationary source:

(1) continuously operates the air pollution control equipment
while operating the associated emissions unit or units;

(2) develops, implements and maintains on-site a written
maintenance plan to assure proper operation of the air pollution
control equipment; and

(3) aintains a log showing the date of all routine or other
maintenance, malfunction or repair of the air pollution control
equipment, the nature of the action taken on such date, and any
corrective action or preventative measures taken.
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(e) Except in the case of a permit-by-rule issued pursuant to K.A.R.
28-19-542, when calculating the potential-to-emit, reductions in
emissions due to operational restrictions or to air pollution control
equipment shall reduce the potential-to-emit only if:

(1) the provisions of K.A.R. 28-19-204 have been satisfied;

(2) notice soliciting comments on the proposed restrictions is:

(A) given to the USEPA;

(B) placed in the Kansas Register; and

(C) except in the case of a general permit, placed in a
newspaper of general circulation in the area in which the emissions
unit or stationary source is, or will be, located, at least 30 days
prior to issuance of the operating permit; and

(3) the USEPA is provided, in a timely manner, with a copy of
the proposed and final class II operating permit. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 65-3005; implementing K.S.A. 1993 Supp. 65-3008;
effective Jan. 23, 1995.)
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EPA Rulemakings

CFR: 40 C.F.R. 70, Appendix A, Kansas (a)

FRM: 61 FR 2938 (1/30/96)

PRM: 60 FR 34493 (7/3/95)

State Submission: 12/12/94

State Effective Date: 1/23/95

APDB File: KS-37

Description: The EPA fully approved the operating permits program submitted by the state of

Kansas for the purpose of complying with Federal requirements for an approvable state program to issue
operating permits to all major stationary sources and certain other sources. The EPA also approved,
under section 112 (1), the state’s program for accepting delegation of section 112 standards to enforce
air toxics regulations.

CFR: 40 C.F.R. 52.870(c) (30) (1) (B)

FRM: 60 FR 36361 (7/17/95)

PRM: 60 FR 36377 (7/17/95)

State Submission: 2/17/95

State Effective Date: 1/23/95

APDB File: KS-39

Description: This revision adopted this new rule to establish the general framework for

eligibility of a source for a class II operating permit.

Difference Between the State and EPA-Approved Regulation

None.



