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§ 13:20-43.1 Definitions 

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall have the following 
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

''Bi-fueled" means powered by gasoline and by an alternative fuel, but not on a mixture of the 
two fuels. Each fuel is stored in a separate tank. For example, a vehicle may operate on either 
propane or gasoline, but it cannot operate on both at the same time. Typically, these vehicles will 
consume the alternative fuel until the supply is exhausted, then switch over, often automatically, 
to use the traditional fuel. This term shall not include vehicles powered by electric motors. 

"Certificate of approval" means an inspection sticker issued by an official inspection facility, 
a licensed private inspection facility, a State specialty inspection facility or the Motor Vehicle 
Commission's Mobile Inspection Unit certifying that a motor vehicle complies with the 
requirements ofTitle 39 and Title 26 ofthe Revised Statutes, this subchapter, N.J.A.C. 13:20-32 
or 33, whichever is applicable, and N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 and 7:278-5 regarding the inspection of 
motor vehicles. 

''Certified configuration" means a vehicle-engine-chassis design for light-duty gasoline­
fueled vehicles and light-duty gasoline-fueled trucks certified by either of the following agencies 
as meeting the applicable emission standards for motor vehicles manufactured in a given model 
year: 

1. EPA for model year 1968 or for a more recent model year; or 

2. California Air Resources Board for model year 1966 or for a more recent model year. 

"Chief Administrator" means the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle 
Commission. 

'·Collector motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle that is less than 25 years old and which was 
either: originally manufactured as a restricted issue make or model, or in a sufficiently limited 
quantity; or at the time of qualification for designation exists in such limited numbers; either one 
or the other or both of the above, according to any generally recognized compilation of motor 
vehicle statistical information on file with, or supplied by the owner to the Motor Vehicle 
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Commission, as may be accepted by the Chief Administrator in his or her discretion, so as to 
establish it as a unique commodity having a current monetary value in excess of similar make 
and model vehicles with routine manufacture and distribution patterns, and, further, that is not 
driven in excess of the maximum mileage permitted by the terms of a valid limited use motor 
vehicle insurance policy issued for, and covering such vehicle, proof of which shall be supplied 
to the Motor Vehicle Commission at the time of application for designation as a collector 
vehicle, which mileage shall in no event exceed 3,000 miles per year. This term shall not include 
motor vehicles with elevated chassis height that are subject to inspection in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 13:20-37. 

"Department" means the Department of Environmental Protection in the State of New Jersey. 

"Emission control system" means a device or equipment installed on a motor vehicle by the 
vehicle manufacturer and/or the engine manufacturer for the purpose of controlling air 
contaminants emitted from the motor vehicle or motor vehicle engine, including devices or 
equipment integral with, but not limited to, exhaust emission control systems, fuel evaporation 
control systems, crankcase emission control systems, and associated devices or systems which 
control or monitor the function and maintenance of these devices or systems. 

"EPA'" means the United States Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Federal Clean Air Act" means the Federal "'Clean Air Act," 42 U.S.C. § 7401 et seq., and 
any subsequent amendments or supplements to that act. 

··Federal test procedure" means a chassis dynamometer test which employs varying speeds 
and loads, developed by the Federal Environmental Protection Agency for purposes of 
measuring motor vehicle exhaust emissions. 

·'Fleet" means 10 or more motor vehicles. 

"Gasoline-fueled" means powered by a hydrocarbon fuel other than diesel fuel, including, but 
not limited to, gasoline, natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas or propane or powered by alcohol 
fuels, hydrocarbon-alcohol fuel blends or hydrogen. 

''Gross vehicle weight rating" or "GVWR" means the value specified by the manufacturer as 
the maximum loaded weight of a single or combination (articulated) vehicle. 

"Inspection decal" means an inspection sticker issued by an official inspection facility in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.4 setting forth the year and month in which a motor vehicle 
less than four model years old shall be presented for inspection in this State. 

"Inspector" means an individual who is licensed by the Motor Vehicle Commission to 
perform motor vehicle emission and OBD inspections. 

'"Jitney" means an autobus as defined in N.J.S.A. 48:16-23 with a carrying capacity of not 
more than 13 passengers, operated under municipal consent upon a route established wholly 
within the limits of a single municipality or with a carrying capacity of not more than 20 
passengers operated under municipal consent upon a route established wholly within the limits 
of not more than four contiguous municipalities within any county of the fifth or sixth class, 
which route in either case does not, in whole or in part, parallel upon the same street the line of 
any street railway or traction railway or any other autobus route. 
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·'Light-duty gasoline-fueled truck" means a gasoline-fueled motor vehicle that has a GVWR 
of 8,500 pounds or less, a vehicle curb weight of 6,000 pounds or less, and a basic frontal area of 
45 square feet or less, and that is: 

1. Designed primarily for the transportation of property or more than 12 passengers; or 

2. Available with special features enabling otT-street or off-highway operation and use. 

''Light-duty gasoline-fueled vehicle" means a gasoline-fueled motor vehicle that has a 
GVWR of 8,500 pounds or less, is designed primarily for use as a passenger car or is a passenger 
car derivative and is capable of seating 12 or fewer passengers. 

''Limousine" means any motor vehicle that is issued special registration plates bearing the 
word "limousine" pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-19.5 other than motor vehicles that are subject to 
inspection by the Motor Vehicle Commission's Commercial Bus Inspection and Investigation 
Unit. 

"Model year" means, with respect to a motor vehicle, the year in which the motor vehicle is 
considered to have been manufactured. If the manufacturer establishes an annual production 
period, designation of the year shall be based on the annual production period during which the 
manufacturer begins production of the motor vehicle. When such annual production period falls 
within one calendar year, the model year attributed to the motor vehicle shall be that calendar 
year. When such annual production period continues from one calendar year into the next, the 
model year attributed to the motor vehicle shall be the latter calendar year (for example, a motor 
vehicle produced in an annual production period that continues from 1994 to 1995 shall be 
considered as being produced in the 1995 model year). If the manufacturer establishes no annual 
production period, a motor vehicle's model year shall be the calendar year in which the 
manufacturer begins production of that motor vehicle. If a motor vehicle is manufactured in two 
or more stages, the model year of such motor vehicle shall be based on the date of completion of 
the chassis. In case of any dispute, the Chief Administrator shall have sole discretion to 
determine the model year of a vehicle for purposes of this subchapter. For purposes of this 
subchapter, the Chief Administrator may, in his or her discretion, determine that "model year" 
means the model year designated for the motor vehicle as contained in the vehicle identification 
number for such vehicle. 

"Motor vehicle'' means all vehicles propelled otherwise than by muscular power, excepting 
such vehicles as run only upon rails or tracks and motorized bicycles. 

"Motor Vehicle Commission" or "Commission" means the New Jersey Motor Vehicle 
Commission established by section 4 ofP.L. 2003, c. 13 (N.J.S.A. 39:2A-4). 

"Motor vehicle emission repair facility" means any person, partnership or corporation 
registered by the Motor Vehicle Commission to engage in the business of performing emission­
related and OBD-related repairs on motor vehicles that have failed an emission or OBD 
inspection required by this subchapter. 

''Official inspection facility" means a test-only inspection facility that the State Treasurer has 
contracted for pursuant to section 4 ofP.L. 1995, c.ll2. 

"'Omnibus" means all motor vehicles used for the transportation of passengers for hire, except 
commuter vans and vehicles used in ridesharing arrangements and school buses, if the same are 
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not otherwise used in the transportation of passengers for hire. 

'"On-board diagnostics'' or "OBD" means an automotive diagnostic system complying with 
California Air Resources Board OBD regulations or EPA OBD regulations etTective for model 
year 1996 and newer gasoline-fueled and hi-fueled motor vehicles. 

'"OBD-eligible" means capable of receiving an OBD inspection as determined by the 
Department of Environmental Protection in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.5(m). 

'"Private inspection facility" means any person, partnership or corporation licensed by the 
Motor Vehicle Commission pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:20-44 to perform the motor vehicle 
inspections required by N.J.S.A. 39:8-1. 

'"Remote sensing device" means an apparatus which remotely monitors motor vehicle 
emissions from an on-road, roadside, or other location. 

'"State" means a state ofthe United States or the District of Columbia. 

'"State specialty inspection facility" means a test-only inspection facility that is operated by 
the Motor Vehicle Commission to inspect certain motor vehicles as specified in N.J.A.C. 13:20-
7.3(d). 

'"Taxicab" means an autocab as detined in N.J.S.A. 48:16-1 engaged in the business of 
carrying passengers for hire, which is held out, announced or advertised to operate or run or 
which is operated or run over any of the streets or public highways ofthis State and particularly 
accepts and discharges such persons as may otTer themselves for transportation from points or 
places to points or places within or without the State. 

§ 13:20-43.2 Inspection requirements for motor vehicles; exempt vehicles; designation of 
collector motor vehicles 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in (b) below, all motor vehicles, regardless of model year or 
fuel type, which are registered or required to be registered in New Jersey and all t1eet motor 
vehicles that are primarily operated in New Jersey shall be inspected in accordance with this 
subchapter and the applicable emission or OBD inspection standards and test procedures adopted 
by the Department of Environmental Protection at N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 and 7:278-5. It shall be the 
responsibility of the owner or lessee of any motor vehicle primarily operated in New Jersey but 
which is registered in another jurisdiction to have such motor vehicle inspected in the state or 
jurisdiction of registration or in this State. 

(b) The following vehicles, some of which may be subject to inspection under other 
provisions of law or regulation, shall be exempt from the inspection requirements of this 
subchapter: 

1. Historic motor vehicles registered pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-27.4; 

2. Collector motor vehicles; 

3. Motorcycles; 
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4. Motorized bicycles; 

5. Farm tractors and traction equipment; 

6. Farm machinery and implements; 

7. Fire trucks having a GVWR of more than 8,500 pounds; 

8. In-transit construction equipment registered pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-30; 

9. Diesel-fueled motor vehicles; 

10. Omnibuses that are subject to inspection by the Motor Vehicle Commission's 
Commercial Bus Inspection and Investigation Unit; 

11. School buses that are subject to inspection by the Motor Vehicle Commission's School 
Bus Inspection Unit in accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:3B-18 et seq.; and 

12. Tactical military vehicles operated on Federal installations within this State. 

(c) To qualify for designation as a "collector motor vehicle" the owner or lessee of a motor 
vehicle shall submit an application in the form specified by the Motor Vehicle Commission that 
provides evidence of the following: 

1. The motor vehicle is less than 25 years old; 

2. The vehicle is not a motor vehicle with elevated chassis height which is subject to 
inspection in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-37; 

3. The vehicle is not driven in excess of the maximum mileage permitted by the terms of a 
valid limited use motor vehicle insurance policy issued for such vehicle; and 

4. The vehicle currently qualifies for, and is covered by, motor vehicle insurance coverage of 
a kind intended for limited use collector motor vehicles, proof of which shall be supplied to the 
Motor Vehicle Commission at the time of application for designation as a collector motor 
vehicle, which policy shall limit the mileage of the vehicle to 3,000 miles per year or less; and 
either, 

i. Proof that the vehicle was originally manufactured as a restricted issue make or model, or 
in a sufficiently limited quantity, according to any generally recognized compilation of motor 
vehicle statistical information on file with, or supplied by the owner or lessee to the Motor 
Vehicle Commission, as may be accepted by the Chief Administrator in his or her discretion, so 
as to establish the vehicle as a unique commodity having a current monetary value in excess of 
similar make and model vehicles with routine manufacture and distribution patterns; or 

ii. Proof that at the time of qualification for designation as a "collector motor vehicle'' that the 
make and model of such vehicles exist in such limited numbers, according to any generally 
recognized compilation of motor vehicle statistical information on file with, or supplied by the 
owner or lessee to the Motor Vehicle Commission, as may be accepted by the Chief 
Administrator in his or her discretion, so as to establish the vehicle as a unique commodity 
having a current monetary value in excess of similar make and model vehicles with routine 
manufacture and distribution patterns. 
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(d) The Chief Administrator or his or her designee shall verify the odometer reading of a 
··collector motor vehicle" and may require that such motor vehicle be equipped with an odometer 
lock. A motor vehicle which is equipped with an odometer which is inoperative or not in proper 
operating condition shall not qualify for designation as a "collector motor vehicle." 

(e) The owner or lessee of any motor vehicle qualifying as a "collector motor vehicle" shall 
be eligible to purchase from the Motor Vehicle Commission a distinctive windshield sticker, of a 
design and dimensions to be approved by the Chief Administrator, said sticker to be affixed in 
lieu of a certificate of approval or inspection decal, by an authorized representative of the Motor 
Vehicle Commission, indicating that said motor vehicle is a "collector motor vehicle" that is 
exempt from the inspection requirements ofN.J.S.A. 39:8-1. The windshield sticker shall be 
valid for the biennial inspection test cycle; provided, however, that a windshield sticker issued 
pursuant to this subsection for a "collector motor vehicle" that is 24 years old shall be valid for a 
period of one year and shall be nonrenewable. 

(t) The Chief Administrator or his or her designee shall remove the previous ·'collector motor 
vehicle" windshield sticker, if any, of a motor vehicle which is denied designation as a "collector 
motor vehicle'' in accordance with this section. A motor vehicle that is denied designation as a 
"collector motor vehicle" shall not be eligible for such designation for one inspection cycle. 

(g) The owner or lessee of a "collector motor vehicle" shall make application to the Motor 
Vehicle Commission for the renewal of the windshield sticker prior to expiration of the 
inspection test cycle. The renewal application shall at a minimum be accompanied by proof that 
the vehicle is covered by motor vehicle insurance coverage of a kind intended for limited use 
collector motor vehicles that limits the mileage use of the vehicle to 3,000 miles per year or less. 

(h) The cost of said sticker shall be$ 25.00 for the initial inspection test cycle and$ 10.00 for 
the renewal of said sticker for inspection test cycles thereafter. 

§ 13:20--B.3 lnspcdion facilities 

A motor vehicle subject to inspection shall have the inspection performed at an oUicial 
inspection facility, a private inspection facility licensed by the Motor Vehicle Commission, or a 
State specialty inspection facility operated by the Motor Vehicle Commission, in accordance 
with N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.3. 

§ 13:20-43.-t Federal motor vehicles 

(a) Motor vehicles that are operated on Federal installations located within New Jersey and 
motor vehicles operated by Federal government agencies in this State shall be inspected in 
accordance with this subchapter and the emission or OBD inspection standards and test 
procedures adopted by the Department of Environmental Protection at N.J .A. C. 7:27-15 and 
7:27B-5. 

(b) Notwithstanding N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.3, motor vehicles that are inspected pursuant to this 
section shall be inspected by a Class I, Class I-A, Class II or Class II-A private inspection 
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facility licensed by the Motor Vehicle Commission pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:20-44. 

(c) A Class I or Class I-A licensed private inspection facility shall provide to the operator of a 
Federally plated or numbered motor vehicle that is presented for inspection in this State a report 
of inspection conducted in accordance with (a) above, which shall include: 

1. The YIN for the motor vehicle; 

2. The license plate number issued by the Federal government agency for the motor vehicle; 

3. HC results, if applicable; 

4. CO results, if applicable; 

5. C0[2] results, if applicable; 

6. 0[2] results, if applicable; 

7. 08D inspection results, if applicable; 

8. Fuel cap leak test results, if applicable; and 

9. Exhaust system inspection results. 

(d) All motor vehicles owned, leased, or operated by civilian or military personnel on Federal 
installations in New Jersey, whether such motor vehicles are registered in this State or in another 
jurisdiction, shall be inspected in accordance with this subchapter and the emission or 08D 
inspection standards and test procedures adopted by the Department of Environmental Protection 
at N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 and 7:278-5. This inspection requirement shall not apply to visiting agency, 
employee, or military personnel vehicles so long as such visits do not exceed 60 calendar days 
per year. 

§ 13:20-43.5 Motor vehicles registered in other states 

(a) Owners, lessees, or operators of motor vehicles registered in other jurisdictions may present 
their motor vehicles for inspection in this State. The inspection shall be in accordance with this 
subchapter and the emission or 08D inspection standards and test procedures adopted by the 
Department of Environmental Protection at N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 and 7:278-5. 

(b) Notwithstanding N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.3, motor vehicles that are inspected pursuant to this 
section shall be inspected by a Class I, Class I-A, Class II or Class II-A private inspection 
facility licensed by the Motor Vehicle Commission pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:20-44. 

(c) A Class I or Class I-A licensed private inspection facility shall provide to the operator of a 
motor vehicle that is presented for inspection in this State a report of inspection conducted under 
N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.4(d) or (a) above. 

(d) The owner or lessee of a motor vehicle shall transmit a report of inspections conducted in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.4(d) or (a) above to the state of registration, which shall 
include: 
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1. The VIN for the motor vehicle; 

2. The license plate number issued for the motor vehicle; 

3. The name of the state in which the motor vehicle is registered; 

4. HC results, if applicable; 

5. CO results, if applicable; 

6. C0[2] results, if applicable; 

7. 0[2] results, if applicable; 

8. OBD inspection results, if applicable; 

9. Fuel cap leak test results, if applicable; and 

10. Exhaust system inspection results. 

§ 13:20--B.6 Fleet motor vehicles 

All t1eet motor vehicles, including those that are available for lease or rent, which are 
registered in this State, or are registered in another state and primarily operated in New Jersey, 
shall be inspected in accordance with this subchapter and the emission or OBD inspection 
standards and test procedures adopted by the Department of Environmental Protection at 
N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 and 7:278-5. A t1eet motor vehicle shall be inspected at an ot1icial inspection 
facility or by a Class I., Class 1-A, Class II or Class II-A licensed private inspection facility. The 
owner or lessee of t1eet motor vehicles may apply for and be licensed by the Motor Vehicle 
Commission as a Class II or Class II-A private inspection facility in accordance with N.J.S.A. 
39:8-1 et seq. and N.J.A.C. 13:20-44. 

§ 13:20-43.7 Test frequency 

(a) Motor vehicles subject to inspection pursuant to this subchapter shall be inspected on a 
biennial basis, except as otherwise provided by law or regulation. 

(b) Notwithstanding (a) above, the following motor vehicles subject to inspection pursuant to 
this subchapter shall be inspected on an annual basis: 

1. Gasoline-fueled and hi-fueled motor vehicles that are registered as commercial motor 
vehicles pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:3-20; 

2. Buses that have been issued passenger, governmental, no fee or commercial vehicle license 
plates by the Motor Vehicle Commission; 

3. Taxicabs; 

4. Limousines; and 
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5. Jitneys. 

§ 13:20--B.S On-board diagnostics inspection; tests for emissions 

(a) An OBD inspection shall be conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.5 and 7:278-
5.6 on all OBD-equipped and OBD-eligible gasoline-fueled and bi-fueled motor vehicles with 
model years 1996 and later having a GVWR of 8,500 pounds or less. Notwithstanding N.J.A.C. 
13:'0-43.2(b)11, an annual OBD inspection shall be conducted by the Motor Vehicle 
Commission's School Bus Inspection Unit in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.5 and 7:278-5.6 
on all OBD-equipped and OBD-eligible gasoline-fueled and bi-fueled school buses with model 
years 1996 and later having a GVWR of 8,500 pounds or less. All motor vehicles that are subject 
to an OBD inspection shall not exceed the OBD inspection standards established at N.J.A.C. 
7:27-15 for such motor vehicles by the Department of Environmental Protection. An OBD 
inspection shall not be required pursuant to this subsection for any OBD-equipped motor vehicle 
that is not OBD-eligible as shall be determined by the Department of Environmental Protection. 
In such exceptional cases, a two-speed idle test conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.5 
and 7:278-5.4 shall be administered. 

(b) A two-speed idle test shall be conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.5 and 
7:278-5.4 on all gasoline-fueled and bi-fueled motor vehicles with model years 1981 through 
1995 having a GVWR of 8,500 pounds or less; provided, however, no such test shall be required 
for any motor vehicle originally manufactured with a particular design characteristic that makes 
it either impractical or hazardous to conduct such test, as shall be determined in the discretion of 
the Chief Administrator. In such exceptional cases, an idle test, conducted in accordance with 
N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.5 and 7:27B-5.3(b), shall be administered. All motor vehicles that are subject 
to a two-speed idle test shall not exceed the emission levels established at N .J .A. C. 7:2 7-15 for 
such motor vehicles by the Department of Environmental Protection for hydrocarbons (HC) and 
carbon monoxide (CO). 

(c) An idle test shall be conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.5 and 7:27B-5.3(b) 
on all gasoline-fueled and bi-fueled motor vehicles with model years 1980 and earlier, all 
gasoline-fueled and bi-fueled motor vehicles having a GVWR greater than 8,500 pounds, and on 
any other motor vehicle originally manufactured with a particular design characteristic that 
makes it either impractical or hazardous to conduct a two-speed idle test, as shall be determined 
in the discretion of the Chief Administrator. All motor vehicles that are subject to an idle test 
shall not exceed the emission levels established at N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 for such motor vehicles by 
the Department of Environmental Protection for hydrocarbons (HC) and carbon monoxide (CO). 

(d) A fuel cap leak test shall be conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.5 and 7:278-
5.7 on all motor vehicles with model years 2000 and earlier that were originally equipped with a 
sealed fuel filler cap. Motor vehicles subject to the fuel cap leak test shall meet the standards for 
such test established by the Department of Environmental Protection at N.J.A.C. 7:27-15.5 and 
7:278-5.7. 

(e) An inspection shall be conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 and 7:278-5 for 
the presence of the catalytic converter on all light-duty gasoline-fueled and bi-fueled motor 
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vehicles and light-duty gasoline-fueled and bi-fueled trucks which were manufactured with a 
catalytic converter as original equipment or which were retrofitted with a catalytic converter. 
Motor vehicles shall ±~til inspection if the catalytic converter was a part of the original certified 
configuration for the motor vehicle and the catalytic converter is missing or disconnected. If it is 
found that the catalytic converter is modified or improperly connected, or is not certified in 
accordance with EPA procedures, or is not of a type which was part of the original certified 
configuration for the motor vehicle, the motor vehicle shall fail inspection. 

(t) A visible smoke test shall be conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 and 7:278-5 
on all gasoline-fueled and bi-fueled motor vehicles subject to inspection pursuant to N.J.S.A. 
39:8-1. 

(g) The Chief Administrator, as required by 40 CFR § 51.353(c)(3) to evaluate the 
effectiveness of the enhanced inspection and maintenance program, may require a motor vehicle 
which has been presented for an initial inspection to undergo an alternate emission inspection by 
his or her designee. 

(h) A motor vehicle safety equipment inspection shall be conducted on all motor vehicles 
subject to inspection; provided, however, that with regard to Federal motor vehicles inspected in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.4 and motor vehicles registered in other states inspected in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.5, the safety equipment inspection required by this 
subsection shall be limited to an inspection of the motor vehicle's exhaust system. The following 
safety equipment shall be subject to inspection: 

1. Steering and suspension; 

2. Glazing and vision obstruction; 

3. Headlights; 

4. Red rear lights; 

5. Stop lights; 

6. Turn signals; 

7. Reflectors; 

8. Horn; 

9. Windshield wipers; 

10. Wheels and tires; 

11. Exhaust system; 

12. Mirrors; 

13. Service brake (operation and pedal reserve); 

14. Parking brake; 

15. Brake equalization; 

16. Seat belts; and 
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17. Such other equipment, as an inspection discloses will affect the safe operation of the 
vehicle or present an imminent safety hazard to its occupants or the public. 

(i) Each motor vehicle inspection conducted pursuant to this subchapter shall include an 
examination of the driver's license, motor vehicle registration certificate and insurance 
identification card; provided, however, that this subsection shall not apply to Federal motor 
vehicles inspected in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.4 or to motor vehicles registered in 
other states inspected in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.5. 

§ 13:20-43.9 Inspection reports; emission-related repair forms 

(a) The operator of a motor vehicle that fails inspection shall be provided with a motor vehicle 
inspection report and inspection report supplement, if issued. The motor vehicle inspection 
report and inspection report supplement, if issued, shall include: 

1. The inspection facility number; 

2. The type oftest(s) performed; 

3. The date of the inspection; 

4. The inspection serial number; 

5. The inspection certificate number; 

6. The vehicle model year, make, and body type; 

7. The vehicle license plate number; 

8. The fuel type; 

9. The gross vehicle weight rating; 

10. The vehicle identification number; 

11. The vehicle odometer reading to the nearest 1,000 miles; 

12. The category of inspection (that is, initial inspection, first reinspection, second 
reinspection, etc.); 

13. The pass/fail result of applicable visual inspections; 

14. Results of the fuel cap leak test, if applicable; 

15. The type of vehicle preconditioning performed, if applicable; 

16. Results of the safety inspection; 

17. Emission or OBD inspection results and standards for the motor vehicle; 

18. Instructions indicating that the report is to be returned to an official inspection facility or 
licensed private inspection facility upon reinspection; 
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19. A statement indicating the availability of warranty coverage as required in section 207 of 
the Federal Clean Air Act; 

20. Instructions indicating that the motor vehicle must be repaired and returned to an official 
inspection facility or licensed private inspection facility and reinspected; 

21. Such advisory diagnostic information as may be made available; 

22. Space to indicate repair by a registered motor vehicle emission repair facility; 

23. Space to indicate the name, address, and registration number of the motor vehicle 
emission repair facility that performed the emission-related or OBD-related repair(s); 

24. Space to indicate the emission-related or OBD-re1ated repair(s) performed; 

25. Space to indicate technician-recommended repair(s) performed; 

26. Other information as the Motor Vehicle Commission may require to enable it to 
determine compliance with this subchapter. 

(b) A registered motor vehicle emission repair facility shall provide all of the information on 
the motor vehicle inspection report and inspection report supplement, if issued, relating to 
emission-related or OBD-related repairs required by (a) above and shall present the completed 
motor vehicle inspection report and inspection report supplement, if issued, to the owner or 
lessee upon delivery of the repaired motor vehicle to such owner or lessee. 

§ 13:20-43.10 Reinspections 

Motor vehicles that fail inspection shall be reinspected within the period of time set forth in 
N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.5, 7.6(a) or 43.14(g), whichever is applicable, after the motor vehicle has been 
repaired or adjusted. Emission-related or OBD-related repairs shall be performed by a registered 
motor vehicle emission repair facility or by the owner or lessee of the motor vehicle. The owner 
or lessee who had a registered motor vehicle emission repair facility perform emission-related or 
OBD-related repairs on a motor vehicle that failed the emission or OBD inspection shall present 
the previously-issued motor vehicle inspection report and inspection report supplement, if 
issued, which has/have been completed by such registered motor vehicle emission repair facility. 
The owner or lessee possessing a nationally-recognized certification for emission-related 
diagnosis and repairs who performs emission-related or OBD-related repairs to a motor vehicle 
that failed the emission or OBD inspection shall present the previously-issued motor vehicle 
inspection report and inspection report supplement, if issued, which has/have been completed by 
such owner or lessee. The owner or lessee who performs emission-related or OBD-related 
repairs of the emission control system and/or who performs an emission-related process on a 
motor vehicle that failed the emission or OBD inspection shall present the previously-issued 
motor vehicle inspection report and inspection report supplement, if issued, which has/have been 
completed by such owner or lessee. All motor vehicles subject to a reinspection, including motor 
vehicles that have failed an on-road inspection conducted in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-
43.14, for noncompliance with the emission or OBD inspection standards shall be subject to the 
separable portions of the inspection procedure for the vehicle model year (that is, fuel cap leak 
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testing, if applicable, and either exhaust or OBD testing, whichever is applicable). Portions of 
the testing procedure shall be considered separable for purposes of this section if a failure on one 
portion does not affect the likelihood of passage or failure on any other portion of the testing 
procedure. If the motor vehicle passes the reinspection, the Motor Vehicle Commission, or an 
authorized inspector, shall issue a certificate of approval for the motor vehicle indicating 
compliance. If the motor vehicle fails to pass the reinspection, the Motor Vehicle Commission, 
or an authorized inspector, shall issue a motor vehicle inspection report indicating 
noncompliance. 

§ 13:20-43.11 Inspection certificates of approval; inspection rejection stickers 

(a) An inspection certificate of approval shall be issued for New Jersey registered motor 
vehicles that meet safety and emission or OBD standards. The inspection certificate of approval 
issued for motor vehicles other than motorcycles shall be affixed in accordance with N..I.A.C. 
13 :20-32.2(d) or 33.2(k), whichever is applicable, to the lower left comer of the windshield 
inside the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle. 

(b) An inspection rejection sticker shall be issued by an official inspection facility for New 
Jersey registered motor vehicles other than motorcycles that fail to meet safety and/or emission 
or OBD standards. The inspection rejection sticker shall be affixed by an official inspection 
facility in accordance with N..J.A.C. 13:20-32.2(e) or, if applicable, N.J.A.C. 13:20-32.2(t), to 
the lower left comer of the windshield inside the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle. A 
licensed private inspection facility shall denote that a New Jersey registered motor vehicle other 
than a motorcycle has failed to meet safety and/or emission or OBD standards by defacing the 
inspection certificate of approval or inspection decal affixed to the motor vehicle, if any, in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-33.2(!), except as otherwise provided at N.J.A.C. 13:20-
33.2(m). The owner or lessee of a motor vehicle that has failed inspection shall have the 
necessary repairs made and shall present the motor vehicle for reinspection within the period of 
time set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.5, 7.6(a) or 43.14(g), whichever is applicable. 

§ 13:20-43. t 2 Inspection extensions 

(a) A motor vehicle registered in New Jersey that cannot be presented for inspection in this 
State prior to the expiration of the certificate of approval or inspection decal issued for the motor 
vehicle shall be deemed to be in compliance with the inspection requirements of this State if the 
motor vehicle is presented for an inspection in the state or region in which it is temporarily 
located, provided that such inspection is performed in an enhanced liM program. In order to 
avoid sanctions for failure to comply with the inspection requirements of this State, it shall be 
the responsibility of the owner or lessee ofthe motor vehicle to transmit to the Motor Vehicle 
Commission proof that the motor vehicle has been inspected by another state's enhanced liM 
program. Such proof shall consist of a report issued by the enhanced liM program of such other 
state containing the license plate number or vehicle identification number of the motor vehicle 
inspected, the date and location of inspection, and the results of such inspection. If such proof 
has been submitted and a current registration has been issued for the motor vehicle, the Chief 
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Administrator or his or her designee may, for good cause, issue a letter extending the time period 
in which to have the motor vehicle inspected. The inspection extension shall be valid from its 
etTective date to 14 days from the date upon which the owner or lessee returns the motor vehicle 
to New Jersey, but in no event shall the extension be valid beyond the expiration of the 
inspection cycle established for the motor vehicle except as hereafter provided. The Chief 
Administrator shall issue an additional inspection extension(s) pursuant to this subsection to a 
motor vehicle owner or lessee who is on active military duty or who is attending college or 
graduate school in a state or region that has an enhanced liM program; provided, however, that 
continuing proof that the motor vehicle has been presented for inspection in another state's 
enhanced liM program is transmitted to the Motor Vehicle Commission by the owner or lessee 
of the motor vehicle. 

(b) The owner or lessee of a motor vehicle registered in New Jersey that cannot be presented 
for inspection in this or another State prior to the expiration of the certificate of approval or 
inspection decal issued for the motor vehicle because it is temporarily located in a state or region 
that does not have an enhanced liM program shall notify the Motor Vehicle Commission of the 
date upon which the motor vehicle will be returned to New Jersey. If a current registration has 
been issued for the motor vehicle, the Chief Administrator or his or her designee may, for good 
cause, issue a letter extending the time period in which to have the motor vehicle inspected. The 
inspection extension shall be valid from its etTective date to 14 days from the date upon which 
the owner or lessee returns the motor vehicle to New Jersey, but in no event shall the extension 
be valid beyond the expiration of the inspection cycle established for the motor vehicle except as 
hereafter provided. The Chief Administrator shall issue an inspection extension of greater length 
pursuant to this subsection to a motor vehicle owner or lessee who is on active military duty and 
is stationed in another state or region that does not have an enhanced liM program, or to a motor 
vehicle owner or lessee who is attending college or graduate school in another state or region 
that does not have an enhanced liM program. 

(c) The owner or lessee of a motor vehicle registered in New Jersey that cannot be presented 
for inspection or reinspection prior to the date by which the motor vehicle must be presented for 
such inspection or reinspection due to the ill health of the motor vehicle owner or lessee, or for 
other good cause, shall notify the Motor Vehicle Commission of such circumstance. If a current 
registration has been issued for the motor vehicle, the Chief Administrator or his or her designee 
may, for good cause, issue a letter extending the time period in which to have the motor vehicle 
inspected or reinspected; provided, however, that such an extension shall not be granted for a 
motor vehicle that has failed inspection and requires repairs pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.6. The 
inspection extension shall be valid until such date as specified by the Chief Administrator or his 
or her designee. but in no event shall the extension be valid beyond the expiration of the 
inspection cycle established for the motor vehicle. 

(d) The owner or lessee of a motor vehicle registered in New Jersey that has failed inspection 
and requires repairs, other than repairs required to be made pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.6, 
which cannot be completed prior to the date by which the motor vehicle must be presented for 
reinspection due to the nature ofthe repairs that are required, shall notify the Motor Vehicle 
Commission of the date upon which the repairs to the motor vehicle shall be completed. If a 
current registration has been issued for the motor vehicle, the Chief Administrator or his or her 
designee may, for good cause, issue a letter extending the time period in which to have the motor 
vehicle reinspected. The inspection extension shall be valid from its etiective date to 14 days 
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from the date upon which the repairs to the motor vehicle have been completed, but in no event 
shall the extension be valid beyond the expiration of the inspection cycle established for the 
motor vehicle. 

§ 13:20-·B.13 (Reserved) 

§ 13:20-43.14 On-road inspections; scope; inspection procedures; criteria for selecting 
vehicles; procedures upon inspection failure 

(a) On-road motor vehicle safety and emission or OBD inspection is intended to complement 
the safety and emission or OBD inspection otherwise required in the State ofNew Jersey by law 
or regulation. 

(b) On-road inspection shall consist of a safety inspection, a visible smoke test, an emission 
test or an OBD inspection, whichever is applicable, a fuel cap leak test, if applicable, an 
inspection for the presence and integrity of the motor vehicle's catalytic converter, an 
examination of the driver's license, motor vehicle registration certificate and insurance 
identification card, and such other tests as may be determined by the Chief Administrator. 

(c) On-road emission tests and OBD inspections shall be conducted using emission test and 
OBD inspection equipment approved by the Chief Administrator after consultation with the 
Department of Environmental Protection in accordance with N.J.A.C. 7:278-5.8. 

(d) On-road emission tests and OBD inspections shall be conducted using the inspection 
standards and test procedures set forth in rules adopted by the Department of Environmental 
Protection at N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 and 7:278-5. 

(e) The Motor Vehicle Commission shall use the following criteria in determining which 
motor vehicles shall be subjected to on-road inspection: 

1. Motor vehicles with an observable defect(s); 

2. Motor vehicles without an inspection certificate of approval or inspection decal; 

3. Motor vehicles with an expired inspection certificate of approval or inspection decal; 

4. Motor vehicles with an expired inspection rejection sticker or other indication that the 
motor vehicle has failed inspection and has not been presented for reinspection within the period 
oftime specified in N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.5, 7.6(a), or (g) below, whichever is applicable; 

5. Motor vehicles without a registration plate(s) and/or registration plate decal(s), if issued by 
the Commission; 

6. Motor vehicles with an expired registration plate decal(s), if issued by the Commission; 

7. Motor vehicles which fail to meet minimum emission standards as determined by a remote 
sensing device; or 

8. Motor vehicles that correspond to a predetermined numerical sequence established by 
Commission supervisory personnel for subjecting motor vehicles to on-road inspection (for 
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example. every fifth motor vehicle, every tenth motor vehicle, etc.) 

(f) If a motor vehicle subject to on-road inspection fails to meet safety, emission, or OBD 
inspection standards, an inspection rejection sticker shall be affixed to the lower left corner of 
the windshield inside the passenger compartment of the motor vehicle. 

(g) The owner or lessee of a motor vehicle which has failed an on-road inspection shall have 
the necessary repairs made and present the motor vehicle for reinspection within 30 days of the 
date of the on-road inspection rejection, except as otherwise provided at N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.6(a). 

§ 13:20-43.15 Recall compliance procedures; purpose; applicability; notice to owner; 
recall compliance form; transfer of ownership; denial and suspension of registration 

(a) Owners and lessees of motor vehicles which are included in either a ''Voluntary Emissions 
Recall" as defined at 40 C.F .R. § 85 .1902( d), or in a remedial plan determination made pursuant 
to section 207(c) of the Federal Clean Air Act, shall present such vehicles to the manufacturer or 
authorized dealer for emission-related repairs and shall comply with the procedures set forth in 
this section. 

(b) Recall compliance procedures set forth in this section shall apply to all motor vehicles for 
which owner recall notification occurs after January 1, 1995. 

(c) The EPA or an entity approved by the EPA shall provide the Motor Vehicle Commission 
with a list of vehicle identification numbers with unresolved recalls. 

(d) The Motor Vehicle Commission shall provide written notice to an owner or lessee of a 
motor vehicle which is contained on an EPA list of vehicle identification numbers with 
unresolved recalls. The notice shall inform the owner or lessee of the following: 

1. That the vehicle is subject to a recall notification; 

2. That the vehicle must be presented to the manufacturer or authorized dealer for emission­
related repairs; and 

3. That proof of compliance with the recall notice must be submitted to the Motor Vehicle 
Commission as a precondition to the Motor Vehicle Commission's issuance of a certificate of 
approval for the vehicle. 

(e) The Motor Vehicle Commission shall prescribe a Recall Compliance Form for use in 
demonstrating recall compliance in accordance with this section. The Recall Compliance Form 
shall be provided to an owner or lessee with the written notice required under (d) above. The 
owner or lessee shall submit the Recall Compliance Form to the manufacturer or authorized 
dealer when he or she presents the vehicle for emission-related recall repairs. The manufacturer 
or authorized dealer shall be responsible for providing the information required on the Recall 
Compliance Form. The manufacturer or authorized dealer shall provide the owner or lessee with 
the completed Recall Compliance Form. The owner or lessee of the vehicle shall submit the 
Recall Compliance Form to the Motor Vehicle Commission. The manufacturer or authorized 
dealer shall maintain a copy of the Recall Compliance Form in its files for a period of five years 
from the date of completion of the emission-related repairs. The manufacturer or authorized 
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dealer shall make available the completed Recall Compliance Form upon the request of the 
Chief Administrator or his or her designee. 

(f) The Recall Compliance Form shall include the following: 

1. The YIN, make, and model year of the vehicle; 

2. The recall campaign number; 

3. The date emission-related repairs were completed; 

4. The name, address and telephone number of the authorized dealer completing the 
emission-related repairs; and 

5. The dealer license number, if the authorized dealer completing the emission-related repairs 
is located in New Jersey. 

(g) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the Motor Vehicle Commission shall deny 
the issuance or renewal of the registration of a motor vehicle and shall suspend the registration 
of a motor vehicle if the owner or lessee has not filed or caused to be filed with the Motor 
Vehicle Commission within six months ofthe written notice provided under (d) above proof that 
recall emission-related repairs have been completed by the manufacturer or authorized dealer. 

(h) The denial of the registration shall be effective on the first day following the expiration 
date of the motor vehicle's registration. The suspension of the registration shall be effective on 
the date specified by the Motor Vehicle Commission in an order of suspension issued to the 
owner or lessee. 

1. The Motor Vehicle Commission shall not suspend a motor vehicle registration pursuant to 
this section if the owner or lessee has surrendered to the Motor Vehicle Commission the 
registration certificate and registration plates issued thereto. 

2. The Motor Vehicle Commission shall not deny a motor vehicle registration pursuant to this 
section if the owner or lessee presents or causes the motor vehicle to be presented to the 
manufacturer or authorized dealer for emission-related recall repairs and files or causes to be 
filed with the Motor Vehicle Commission proof that recall emission-related repairs have been 
completed by the manufacturer or authorized dealer. 

§ 13:20-43.16 Registration denial; suspension of registration; motor vehicles not 
inspected by certificate of approval or inspection decal expiration date; motor vehicles that 
have failed inspection and have not been presented for reinspection; conditional 
registration restoration; reinstatement of registration suspension due to noncompliance; 
conditional registration; suspension of conditional registration due to noncompliance; 
penalties 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the Motor Vehicle Commission shall deny the 
issuance or renewal of the registration of a motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle, and shall 
suspend the registration of a motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle, if the owner or lessee has 
not presented the motor vehicle for inspection prior to the expiration of the certificate of 
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approval or inspection decal issued for the motor vehicle. The Motor Vehicle Commission shall 
mail a notice of scheduled registration suspension to the owner or lessee of a motor vehicle 
whenever a motor vehicle has not been presented for inspection prior to the expiration of the 
certificate of approval or inspection decal issued for the motor vehicle. The notice of scheduled 
registration suspension shall inform the owner or lessee that the motor vehicle must be presented 
for inspection within 30 days from the date of the notice of scheduled registration suspension 
and that the owner's or lessee's failure to present the motor vehicle for inspection shall cause the 
registration of the motor vehicle to be suspended. The Motor V chicle Commission shall mail an 
order of registration suspension to the owner or lessee if the owner or lessee fails to present the 
motor vehicle for inspection in accordance with the notice of scheduled registration suspension. 
The Motor Vehicle Commission shall not suspend a motor vehicle registration pursuant to this 
subsection if the owner or lessee complies with either ofthe following requirements: 

1. Surrenders or causes to be surrendered to the Motor Vehicle Commission the registration 
certificate and registration plates issued for the motor vehicle within the period of time provided 
in the Motor Vehicle Commission's notice of scheduled registration suspension; or 

2. Presents or causes the motor vehicle to be presented for inspection within the period of 
time provided in the Motor Vehicle Commission's notice of scheduled registration suspension 
and an inspection certificate of approval is issued for the motor vehicle within such period of 
time. 

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this section, the Motor Vehicle Commission shall deny or 
suspend the registration of a motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle, if the owner or lessee has 
not presented the motor vehicle for reinspection prior to the expiration of the inspection rejection 
sticker or other indication of inspection rejection issued for the motor vehicle after failure of 
inspection. The Motor V chicle Commission shall mail a notice of scheduled registration 
suspension to the owner or lessee of a motor vehicle whenever a motor vehicle has not been 
presented for reinspection within the period oftime set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:20-7.5, 7.6(a) or 
43.14(g), whichever is applicable. The notice of scheduled registration suspension shall inform 
the owner or lessee that the motor vehicle must be presented for reinspection within 30 days 
from the date of the notice of scheduled registration suspension and that the owner's or lessee's 
failure to present the motor vehicle for reinspection shall cause the registration of the motor 
vehicle to be suspended. The Motor Vehicle Commission shall mail an order of registration 
suspension to the owner or lessee if the owner or lessee fails to present the motor vehicle for 
reinspection in accordance with the notice of scheduled registration suspension. The Motor 
Vehicle Commission shall not suspend a motor vehicle registration pursuant to this subsection if 
the owner or lessee complies with either of the following requirements: 

1. Surrenders or causes to be surrendered to the Motor Vehicle Commission the registration 
certificate and registration plates issued for the motor vehicle within the period of time provided 
in the Motor V chicle Commission's notice of scheduled registration suspension; or 

2. Presents or causes the motor vehicle to be presented for reinspection within the period of 
time provided in the Motor Vehicle Commission's notice of scheduled registration suspension 
and an inspection certificate of approval is issued for the motor vehicle within such period of 
time. 

(c) The Motor Vehicle Commission shall not issue a motor vehicle registration renewal 
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application if the registration for the motor vehicle is denied or suspended in accordance with 
this section. 

(d) The Motor Vehicle Commission shall issue a notice of conditional registration restoration 
to a motor vehicle owner or lessee who has applied for the restoration of a motor vehicle 
registration that has been denied or suspended pursuant to this section provided he or she has 
paid the registration restoration fee in accordance with N.J.S.A. 39:3-10a and N.J.A.C. 13:21-
9 .3(b) and, if applicable, the registration renewal fee required by law; provided, however, a 
notice of conditional registration restoration shall not be issued if the motor vehicle registration 
is otherwise suspended and is not eligible for restoration. The conditional registration restoration 
shall authorize the operation of such motor vehicle only for the following purposes: 

1. To travel to and from an official inspection facility where the inspection or reinspection of 
such motor vehicle is to be conducted; 

2. To travel to and from a licensed private inspection facility where the inspection or 
reinspection of such motor vehicle is to be conducted; 

3. To travel to and from a State specialty inspection facility where the inspection or 
reinspection of such motor vehicle is to be conducted; 

4. To travel to and from a registered motor vehicle emission repair facility where the repair of 
such motor vehicle is to be performed; or 

5. To travel to and from a repair facility where the repair of such motor vehicle is to be 
performed. 

(e) A notice of conditional registration restoration issued pursuant to (d) above shall be valid 
for a period not to exceed 14 days. The registration suspension of a motor vehicle for which a 
notice of conditional registration restoration has been issued by the Motor Vehicle Commission 
pursuant to (d) above shall be reinstated if an inspection certificate of approval is not issued for 
such motor vehicle prior to the expiration of the notice of conditional registration restoration. 

(f) The Motor Vehicle Commission shall issue a conditional registration certificate to the 
purchaser of a used motor vehicle for which the registration thereof had been denied or 
suspended pursuant to this section prior to the date of sale provided the registrant has paid the 
registration fee required by law; provided, however, a conditional registration certificate shall 
not be issued if the purchaser's registration privilege is otherwise suspended and is not eligible 
for restoration. The conditional registration shall authorize the operation of such motor vehicle 
only for the following purposes: 

1. To travel from the place of purchase to the purchaser's residence or place of business; 

2. To travel to and from an official inspection facility where the inspection or reinspection of 
such motor vehicle is to be conducted; 

3. To travel to and from a licensed private inspection facility where the inspection or 
reinspection of such motor vehicle is to be conducted; 

4. To travel to and from a State specialty inspection facility where the inspection or 
reinspection of such motor vehicle is to be conducted; 
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5. To travel to and from a registered motor vehicle emission repair facility where the repair of 
such motor vehicle is to be performed; or 

6. To travel to and from a repair facility where the repair of such motor vehicle is to be 
performed. 

(g) A conditional registration certificate issued pursuant to (t) above shall be valid from the 
date of its issuance. The registration of a motor vehicle for which a conditional registration has 
been issued by the Motor Vehicle Commission pursuant to (f) above shall be suspended if an 
inspection certificate of approval is not issued for such motor vehicle within 14 days of the 
issuance of the conditional registration certificate. 

(h) If a motor vehicle for which a notice of conditional registration restoration has been 
issued pursuant to (d) above or for which a conditional registration has been issued pursuant to 
(f) above is presented for inspection at an official inspection facility or a licensed private 
inspection facility and fails such inspection, the official inspection facility or licensed private 
inspection facility shall remove the previously-issued inspection certificate of approval, 
inspection decal, collector motor vehicle windshield sticker and/or inspection rejection sticker, if 
any, affixed to the windshield and shall present the motor vehicle inspection report for such 
motor vehicle to the operator thereof. 

( i) A motor vehicle owner or lessee whose motor vehicle registration has been denied or 
suspended pursuant to this section shall not operate or permit the operation of such motor 
vehicle during the period of such denial or suspension. A person who operates or permits the 
operation of a motor vehicle during a period of denial or suspension shall be subject to the 
penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 39:3-4, 39:3-40 and 39:5-35. 

§ 13:20-43.17 Emission inspector training and licensing; training administration; testing; 
application process; license fee; renewal of license; refresher training and testing; conflicts 
of interest 

(a) No person shall perform an emission or OBD inspection required by this subchapter unless 
licensed by the Motor Vehicle Commission to perform such inspection. In order to obtain 
licensure as a motor vehicle emission inspector, an applicant shall complete a training program 
that shall consist of acquiring an understanding of: 

1. The air pollution problem, its causes and etTects; 

2. The purpose, function, and goal of the enhancc:d motor vehicle inspection and maintenance 
program; 

3. Emission and OBD inspection regulations and procedures; 

4. Technical details of emission test and OBD inspection procedures and the rationale for 
their design; 

5. Emission control device function, configuration, and inspection; 

6. Emission test and OBD inspection equipment operation, calibration, and maintenance. 
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7. Quality control procedures and their purpose; 

8. Public relations; and 

9. Personal safety and health issues related to the inspection process. 

(b) The Motor Vehicle Commission shall either administer the training program or approve, 
monitor and evaluate the training programs administered by third parties as set forth in N.J.A.C. 
13:20-43.21. 

(c) An applicant for licensure as a motor vehicle emission inspector shall submit to the Motor 
Vehicle Commission a license fee of$ 50.00 and a certificate confirming that the applicant has 
successfully completed training and testing at a Motor Vehicle Commission-approved emission 
inspector training program. The applicant shall have attained a score of at least 80 percent of 
correct responses on a written examination covering all aspects of the training. In addition, a 
hands-on test shall have been administered in which the applicant demonstrated, without 
assistance, the ability to conduct a proper inspection, to properly utilize equipment, and to follow 
other procedures adopted by the Motor Vehicle Commission. Inability to properly conduct any 
emission test or OBD inspection procedure shall constitute failure of the test. 

(d) A motor vehicle emission inspector license shall be valid for two years. Refresher training 
and testing shall be required prior to renewal of the license, and each application for license 
renewal shall be accompanied by the applicable fee specified in (c) above. For purposes of this 
subsection, "refresher training and testing" shall mean either a training program as set forth in 
(a) above or an on-the-job evaluation of the licensee's inspection performance and knowledge of 
current inspection requirements by the Chief Administrator or his or her designee. 

(e) No person licensed as an emission inspector shall, while in the employment of an official 
inspection facility, own, operate, or be employed by any motor vehicle repair or service facility, 
motor vehicle parts sales business, or any motor vehicle sales or leasing business. An emission 
inspector, other than an emission inspector employed at an official inspection facility, may be 
employed by a private inspection facility which is licensed by the Motor Vehicle Commission in 
accordance with Chapter 8 of Title 39 ofthe Revised Statutes and N.J.A.C. 13:20-44. 

(f) No person licensed as an emission inspector, while in the employment of an official 
inspection facility, shall refer motor vehicle owners, lessees, or operators to particular providers 
of motor vehicle repair service except as may be permitted by Federal law. 

(g) The Chief Administrator, upon presentation of a statement stating that the original 
emission inspector license has been destroyed, lost, or stolen, may, if he or she is satisfied that 
the facts as set forth in the statement are substantially true, issue a duplicate emission inspector 
license to the original holder thereof, upon payment of a fee of$ 5.00 for each duplicate 
emission inspector license so issued. 

(h) A person shall not be licensed as a motor vehicle emission inspector, nor perform the 
duties of a motor vehicle emission inspector, unless such person possesses a valid driver license. 

(i) The emission inspector license shall be in the possession ofthe licensee at all times when 
he or she is performing the duties of a motor vehicle emission inspector. 
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§ 13:20--B.IS Suspension or revocation of emission inspector license; retraining and 
retesting; suspension pending hearing; schedule of penalties 

(a) A motor vehicle emission inspector license may be suspended or revoked for any of the 
following: 

1. Fraudulently, willfully, or negligently conducting an improper emission or OBD inspection 
of a motor vehicle; 

2. Violation of any provision ofN.J.S.A. 39:8-1 et seq., N.J.A.C. 13:20-7, 13:20-32, 13:20-
33. 13:20-44, 13:20-45, or this subchapter; 

3. Violation of any procedure established by the Motor Vehicle Commission or the 
Department of Environmental Protection for the conduct of emission or OBD inspections; 

4. Fraudulently, willfully or negligently issuing an improper certificate of approval, 
inspection decal, collector motor vehicle windshield sticker or rejection sticker; 

5. Fraudulent or improper recordkeeping relating to inspection certificates, decals or stickers; 

6. Fraudulent or improper recordkeeping relating to inspection certificate, decal or sticker 
inventory, control or ledgers; or 

7. Other good cause. 

(b) An emission inspector who fraudulently or willfully conducts an improper emission or 
OBD inspection of a motor vehicle shall be subject to a suspension of his or her emission 
inspector license for a period of at least six months. An emission inspector whose license is 
suspended pursuant to this section shall successfully complete refresher training and testing in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.17(d) before such license is restored pursuant to this 
subchapter. 

(c) Any applicant who submits false information when applying for a motor vehicle emission 
inspector license may be disqualified from receiving the license. In addition, any licensee whose 
eligibility for a license was based on the submission of false information is subject to license 
suspension or revocation by the Motor Vehicle Commission. 

(d) A motor vehicle emission inspector license may be suspended immediately by the Chief 
Administrator upon a charge of a violation that directly affects emission reduction benefits or 
compromises the integrity of the inspection system. If the Chief Administrator determines that 
the public interest requires suspension of a license pursuant to this subchapter prior to hearing, 
the Chief Administrator may do so, provided that notice containing the reasons for such 
suspension and the effective date of the suspension is provided to the licensee in person, or by 
certified or regular mail, prior thereto and the licensee is afforded the opportunity to request in 
writing a hearing within 10 days of the effective date of the suspension. When a licensee 
requests an administrative adjudication it shall be held as soon thereafter as practicable. If the 
Chief Administrator determines it necessary to suspend a license prior to hearing and the 
licensee submits a request for a hearing within the time prescribed by this section, the Chief 
Administrator may require that a preliminary hearing be held or may refer the matter to the 
Office of Administrative Law for a preliminary hearing to determine whether sufficient cause 
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exists to continue such suspension until a plenary hearing can be conducted. 

(e) Any hearing concerning the suspension, revocation, or refusal to issue or renew a motor 
vehicle emission inspector license shall be conducted in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:148-1 et seq., and the Uniform Administrative Procedure Rules, 
N.J.A.C. 1:1. 

(f) The following penalty schedule shall apply to emission inspector licensees who violate 
P.L. 1995, c. 112, N.J.S.A. 39:8-1 et seq., N.J.A.C. 13:20-7, 32, 33, 44,45 or this subchapter. 

1. For intentionally or willfully improperly passing a motor vehicle for any required portion 
of the emission test or OBD inspection in violation of rules or procedural requirements: 
i. 

ii. 

Six month license suspension; plus $ 

500.00 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 

and 

retesting 

Two year license suspension; plus $ 
1,000.00 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 
and 

retesting 

iii. Lifetime license revocation; plus $ 

2,000.00 

civil penalty 

first violation 

second violation 

third violation 

2. For gross negligence in passing a motor vehicle for any required portion of the emission 
test or OBD inspection in violation of rules or procedural requirements: 
i. 

ii. 

Three month license suspension; plus $ 
500.00 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 
and 

retesting 

Six month license suspension; plus $ 
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iii. 

iv. 

750.00 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 
and 

retesting 

Two year license suspension; plus $ 

1,000.00 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 
and 

retesting 

Lifetime license revocation; plus $ 

2,000.00 

civil penalty 

third violation 

fourth violation 

3. For simple negligence in passing a motor vehicle for any required portion of the emission 
test or OBD inspection in violation of rules or procedural requirements: 
i. Two week license suspension; plus $ 500.00 first violation 

ii. 

iii. 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 
and 

retesting 

One month license suspension; plus $ 

500.00 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 
and 

retesting 

Three month license suspension; plus $ 

750.00 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 
and 
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iv. 

v. 

retesting 

Six month license suspension; plus $ 

750.00 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 
and 

retesting 

Two year license suspension; plus $ 

1,000.00 

civil penalty; plus mandatory retraining 
and 

retesting 

fourth violation 

fifth and 

subsequent 
violations 

4. For misrepresentation on application (fraud or misrepresentation in securing the license): 

i. Three-year license denial or suspension 

5. For fraudulently affixing a certificate of approval, inspection decal, collector motor vehicle 
windshield sticker or rejection sticker: 
i. 

ii. 

Immediate two-year license suspension; 
plus $ 

500.00 civil penalty 

Immediate four-year license suspension; 
plus $ 

1,000.00 civil penalty 

iii. Lifetime license revocation; plus $ 
2,000.00 

civil penalty 

first violation 

second violation 

third violation 

6. For fraud or misrepresentation in the conduct of the licensed activity: 
l. Immediate two-year license suspension first violation 
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ii. Immediate four-year license suspension second violation 

iii. Lifetime license revocation third violation 

7. For issuance or possession of an altered, forged, stolen or counterfeit certificate of 
approval, inspection decal, collector motor vehicle windshield sticker, rejection sticker or 
emission inspector license: 
i. Two-year license suspension first violation 

ii. Four-year license suspension second violation 

iii. Lifetime license revocation third violation 

8. For furnishing, lending, giving or selling a certificate of approval or rejection sticker 
without performing the required inspection or reinspection or an inspection decal or collector 
motor vehicle windshield sticker for a motor vehicle that does not qualify for the issuance of 
such decal or sticker: 
l. Two-year license suspension 

ii. Four-year license suspension 

9. For fraudulent recordkeeping: 
i. Immediate two-year license suspension 

ii. Immediate four-year license suspension 

iii. Lifetime license revocation 

10. For failing to produce inspection records: 

i. Immediate license suspension until compliance 
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first violation 

second and 

subsequent 
violations 

first violation 

second violation 

third violation 



11. For improper recordkeeping: 
i. One-month license suspension 

ii. Two-month license suspension 

iii. Six-month license suspension 

first violation 

second violation 

third and 

subsequent 
violations 

12. For improper security of certificates of approval, inspection decals, collector motor 
vehicle windshield stickers and/or rejection stickers: 
i. Written warning 

ii. Two-month license suspension 

iii. Six-month license suspension 

first violation 

second violation 

third and 

subsequent 
violations 

13. For lost or stolen certificates of approval, inspection decals, collector motor vehicle 
windshield stickers and/or rejection stickers for which the licensee does not properly account. A 
licensee can "properly account" for such documents by demonstrating, to the satisfaction of the 
Chief Administrator, that they were lost or stolen under circumstances beyond the reasonable 
control of the licensee: 
i. One-month license suspension 

ii. Two-month license suspension 

iii. One-year license suspension 
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first violation 

second violation 

third and 

subsequent 
violations 



14. For overcharging on inspection/reinspection: 
i. Writ ten warning 

ii. 30-day license suspension 

iii. 60-day license suspension 

first violation 

second violation 

third and 

subsequent 
violations 

15. For failure to provide vehicle inspection report and/or work order to the customer: 
i. 30-day license suspension 

ii. 60-day license suspension 

iii. One-year license suspension 

16. For criminal conviction which is disqualifying: 

i. Indefinite denial/suspension 

first violation 

second violation 

third and 

subsequent 
violations 

Issuance/restoration predicated on standards set forth in the Rehabilitated Convicted 
Offenders Act (N.J.S.A. 2A:168A-1 et seq.). 

i. 

ll. 

17. For lending an emission inspector license to another person: 
Two-year license suspension 

Four-year license suspension 
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first violation 

second and 

subsequent 
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i. 

ii. 

18. For failing to produce an emission inspector license: 
Immediate cessation of licensed activity 

until 

compliance; plus written warning 

Immediate cessation of licensed activity 

until 

compliance; plus $ 25.00 civil penalty 

iii. Immediate cessation of licensed activity 
until 

compliance; plus $ 50.00 civil penalty; 
plus 

30-day license suspension 

19. For failing to cooperate with an audit or investigation: 
i. Minimum 15-day license suspension and 

until 

compliance 

first violation 

second violation 

third and 

subsequent 
violations 

(g) Where, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:8-1 et seq., or any regulation adopted thereunder, the 
Chief Administrator has the authority to suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew a motor 
vehicle emission inspector license, the Chief Administrator shall also have the authority to 
impose an official warning, as an alternative or in addition to such suspension, revocation or 
refusal to issue or renew. 

(h) A motor vehicle emission inspector whose license is suspended pursuant to this section or 
who receives an official warning from the Chief Administrator shall be required to successfully 
complete refresher training and testing in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.17(d). 
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§ 13:20--0.19 Quality assurance; auditor training 

(a) Any person licensed or authorized by the Motor Vehicle Commission to perform 
inspections required by this subchapter shall cooperate fully with the Motor Vehicle 
Commission, the Department of Environmental Protection, or their authorized representatives, in 
the conduct of any audits or reviews authorized by the Commission or the Department. All 
books, records, documents, papers, reports, or data relating to the performance of inspections 
required by this subchapter, in whatever form kept, shall be open to inspection by the Motor 
Vehicle Commission or the Department of Environmental Protection at such times and at such 
locations as the Commission or the Department may specify. The Motor Vehicle Commission, 
the Department of Environmental Protection, or their authorized representatives, may conduct 
covert and overt audits of the performance of inspectors or inspection facilities and the 
equipment utilized by such persons at any times during which inspections are being performed 
or the facility is open for business. In conducting an audit or review, the Motor Vehicle 
Commission, the Department of Environmental Protection, or their authorized representatives 
shall be given unfettered access to all areas of an inspection facility and to all equipment at such 
facility. The Motor Vehicle Commission or the Department of Environmental Protection may 
conduct audits or reviews at such frequencies as they deem appropriate to assure the integrity 
and performance of the inspection system. 

(b) Auditors shall be formally trained and knowledgeable in: 

1. The use of analyzers; 

2. Program rules and regulations; 

3. The basics of air pollution control; 

4. Basic principles of motor vehicle engine repair relating to emission performance; 

5. Emission control systems; 

6. OBD systems; 

7. Evidence gathering; 

8. State administrative procedures laws; 

9. Quality assurance practices; and 

10. Covert audit procedures. 

§ 13:20--0.20 Surrender of emission inspector license 

(a) Each motor vehicle emission inspector license, although issued and delivered to a licensee, 
shall at all times be the property of the State of New Jersey. 

(b) Upon any suspension, revocation, refusal to renew or other termination of a motor vehicle 
emission inspector license, the license shall no longer be in force and effect and the license shall 
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be surrendered forthwith upon demand of a Motor Vehicle Commission representative. 

§ 13:20-43.21 Emission inspector training programs administered by third parties; fee; 
approval process; auditing of programs 

(a) The Chief Administrator, as required by 40 CFR § 51.367, shall monitor and evaluate 
emission inspector training programs administered by third parties. 

(b) The Motor Vehicle Commission shall charge a fee of$ 100.00 for the approval of 
emission inspector training programs administered by third parties. If a third party provider has 
multiple training sites, an approval fee shall be charged for each site. 

(c) Each applicant for approval of an emission inspector training program shall file with the 
Chief Administrator, in such form and detail as may be required by him or her, an application 
setting forth the following: 

1. The name, place of business and telephone number of the emission inspector training 
program; 

2. The name, residence address(es), driver's license number, and telephone number(s) of: 

i. The owner and/or possessor of a controlling interest of the emission inspector training 
program, in the case of a sole proprietorship; 

ii. Each partner, in the case of a partnership; or 

iii. Each officer, director and possessor of a controlling interest, in the case of a corporation; 

3. The name, residence address(es), driver's license number, professional credentials, and 
training experience of trainers employed by the emission inspector training program; 

4. Accreditation; 

5. The number of years the emission inspector training program has been in operation; and 

6. Whether the emission inspector training program intends to develop its own curriculum or 
use a curriculum that has been already developed. 

(d) The classroom facility shall be subject to inspection by the Chief Administrator or his or 
her designee and shall meet the following requirements: 

1. There shall be a minimum of 15 square feet per student; provided, however, a third party 
administering an emission inspector training program prior to October 15,2001 shall be 
exempted from this requirement; 

2. Seating facilities and writing surfaces shall be available for each student; 

3. Lighting, heating, ventilation, and toilet facilities shall be provided which meet municipal 
housing code ordinance requirements; 

4. Instructional materials including manuals, workbooks, videos, charts, diagrams, pictures, 
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and other training materials related to the enhanced motor vehicle inspection and maintenance 
program rules and inspection procedures shall be provided; and 

5. Chalkboards or display apparatus that are visible from all seating areas shall be provided. 

(e) The hands-on emission and OBD test demonstration area, including the emission and 
OBD test equipment (that is, the exhaust gas analyzer, OBD scanner and analyzer and fuel cap 
leak tester) shall be subject to inspection by the Chief Administrator or his or her designee. If a 
simulator is used, a written explanation of its design and function shall be required. 

(t) If a third party emission inspector training program provider conducts the hands-on 
emission and OBD test demonstration at its own facility, the provider shall furnish a motor 
vehicle for such hands-on emission and OBD test demonstration and an instructor for the written 
test. 

(g) A third party emission inspector training program provider shall present a certificate to all 
students who successfully complete its program. This certificate shall be in the following form: 

Emission Inspector Training Program Name 

MVC CERTIFICATE No. ________ _ 

This is to certify that 

Date 

Name of Student 

Has successfully completed 

Emission Inspector Training 

Signature of Instructor 

This emission inspector training program certificate is valid for 
two 

years from the date of issuance 

(h) A third party emission inspector training program provider shall submit to the Chief 
Administrator or his or her designee a class roster that includes the name and social security 
number of all students prior to emission inspector license testing. 

(i) A third party emission inspector training program provider shall submit a curriculum or 
syllabus to the Chief Administrator or his or her designee for approval covering the following: 

1. The air pollution problem, its causes and effects; 

2. The purpose, function, and goal of the enhanced motor vehicle inspection and maintenance 
program; 

3. Emission and OBD inspection regulations and procedures; 
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4. Technical details of emission test and OBD inspection procedures and the rationale for 
their design; 

5. Emission control device function, configuration, and inspection; 

6. Emission test and OBD inspection equipment operation, calibration, and maintenance; 

7. OBD system function, configuration, and inspection; 

8. Quality control procedures and their purpose; 

9. Public relations; and 

10. Personal safety and health issues related to the enhanced motor vehicle emission and 
OBD inspection process. 

U) The training curriculum or syllabus shall meet or exceed the performance standard for 
emission inspector training as set forth in this subsection. A student who has successfully 
completed an emission inspector training program shall be able to properly perform each 
emission and OBD inspection procedure and shall have knowledge of the subject matter set forth 
below: 

1. Overview information: 

i. Plain English guide to the Federal Clean Air Act and the Clean Air Act Amendments of 
1990; 

ii. Understanding of the air pollution problem, its causes and effects; 

iii. The purpose, function and goals of the New Jersey enhanced motor vehicle inspection and 
maintenance program; 

iv. Motor vehicle emissions; 

v. Program requirements; 

vi. Consumer benefits; and 

vii. Public relations and customer interaction; 

2. Exhaust emission testing: 

i. General information: 

(1) Understanding emission theory; 

(2) Understanding five gas theory (HC, CO, 0[2], C0[2], and NO); 

(3) Understanding and utilizing exhaust gas analyzers; and 

(4) Oxides of nitrogen (NO[x]) production and control; and 

ii. Detailed information: 

( 1) Knowledge of how to perform the idle test and two-speed idle test; 

(2) Knowledge of the inspection regulations and procedures needed to perform all exhaust 
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emission tests; 

(3) Knowledge of the test equipment operation, calibration, and maintenance for exhaust 
emission testing; 

( 4) Quality control procedures for exhaust emission testing and their purpose; 

(5) Safety and health issues related to the exhaust emission inspection process; and 

(6) Public relations and customer interaction; 

3. Emission control apparatus compliance testing: 

i. General information: 

(1) Understanding catalytic converters; and 

(2) Understanding and utilizing fuel cap leak and emission control apparatus testing 
equipment; and 

ii. Detailed information: 

( 1) Knowledge of how to perform the fuel cap leak test; 

(2) Knowledge of how to perform the inspection for the presence of a catalytic converter; 

(3) Knowledge of the inspection regulations and procedures for emission control apparatus 
testing; 

( 4) Quality control procedures for emission control apparatus testing and their purpose; 

(5) Safety and health issues related to the emission control apparatus inspection process; and 

( 6) Public relations and customer interaction; 

4. OBD-I and OBD-II: 

i. General information: 

(1) Understanding the theory of and the concepts behind On Board Diagnostics (OBD); and 

(2) Understanding and utilizing the OBD testing equipment; and 

ii. Detailed information: 

(1) Description ofthe differences between OBD-1 and OBD-II; 

(2) Explanation of how OBD-II systems monitoring is similar to the exhaust test procedures; 

(3) Explanation of OBD-II terminology; and 

(4) Explanation ofOBD-11 diagnostic codes. 

(k) A third party emission inspector training program provider shall: 

1. Provide a minimum of eight hours of classroom instruction, including hands-on emission 
and OBD test demonstrations; 
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2. Provide trained instructor(s) in a number sufficient to insure that each student is provided 
with adequate attention. The ratio of students to instructors shall not exceed 25 to one per class; 
and 

3. Provide a student with a certificate stating that such student has successfully completed the 
emission inspector training program. 

([)An applicant for approval as a third party emission inspector training program shall have a 
minimum of two years of training experience in either the development of an emission inspector 
training program or the administration of an emission inspector training program for either a 
basic or an enhanced motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program. 

§ 13:20-43.22 Records; third party emission inspector training programs 

(a) An approved third party emission inspector training program provider shall maintain a 
record of every person receiving emission inspector training, whether the person successfully 
completed the course or not, the name of the instructor giving the course, and the dates 
instruction was given. Such records shall be maintained at the provider's principal place of 
business for a period of two years. 

(b) The records of the third party emission inspector training program provider may be 
electronically stored. 

§ 13:20-43.23 Change of address of principal place of business; change of instructors; 
third party emission inspector training programs 

(a) A third party emission inspector training program provider shall notify the Chief 
Administrator in writing within seven days of a change of the provider's principal place of 
business. 

(b) A third party emission inspector training program provider shall notify the Chief 
Administrator in writing within seven days of a change of instructors employed by such 
provider. 

§ 13:20-·B.24 Audits; third party emission inspector training programs 

A third party emission inspector training program provider shall permit representatives from 
the Motor Vehicle Commission or the Department of Environmental Protection access to 
training sessions for the purpose of auditing and shall upon request furnish the dates, times, and 
locations of such training sessions. 
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§ 13:20-·B.25 Additional violations; third party emission inspector training programs 

(a) In addition to any violation ofN.J.S.A. 39:8-1 et seq., the Chief Administrator may refuse 
to approve, or withdraw approval of, a third party emission inspector trainines that the applicant 
has made a false statement or concealed a fact in connection with the application for approval. 

(b) In addition to any violation ofN.J.S.A. 39:8-1 et seq., the Chief Administrator may refuse 
to approve, or withdraw approval of, a third party emission inspector training program if he or 
she determines that the applicant at any time following submission of the application for 
approval: 

1. Has been found to have violated or conducted fraudulent or deceptive practices concerning 
the repair of motor vehicles in violation ofN.J.S.A. 56:8-1 et seq. or N.J.A.C. 13 :45A-26C; 

2. Has a criminal record which is disqualifying. A disqualifying criminal record shall include 
a conviction of any offense in any jurisdiction which indicates that approval of the applicant or 
continued approval of the training program would be inimical to the standards set forth in P.L. 
1995, c.112 and this subchapter; 

3. Demonstrates a pattern of conduct wherein emission inspector training was not conducted 
in a professional manner; 

4. Issues a check in payment of any fee required by this subchapter which is subsequently 
dishonored; 

5. Has failed to comply with any of the provisions of this subchapter; 

6. Fails to maintain an approved classroom in accordance with this subchapter; 

7. Fails to pay any fee required by law or regulation; 

8. Fails to notify the Chief Administrator in writing as required by N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.23; 

9. Has been found to be in violation of the Federal Clean Air Act or the Consumer Fraud Act 
(N.J.S.A. 56:8-1 et seq.) or any regulations adopted thereunder; or 

10. For other good cause. 

§ 13:20-43.26 Additional penalties; third party emission inspector training programs 

When, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:8-1 et seq. or any regulation adopted thereunder, the Chief 
Administrator has the authority to withdraw the approval of a third party emission inspector 
training program provider, the Chief Administrator shall also have the authority to impose an 
oHicial warning as an alternative to such withdrawal of approval. 
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§ 13:20--&3.27 Investigations; third party emission inspector training programs 

(a) The Chief Administrator, or any person designated by him or her, shall have the power to 
investigate and gather evidence of violations ofN.J.S.A. 39:8-1 et seq., or of any regulation 
adopted thereunder, by an approved third party emission inspector training program provider. 

(b) The Chief Administrator, or any person designated by him or her, shall have the power to 
conduct investigations, administer oaths, interrogate third party emission inspector training 
program providers, issue subpoenas, summonses and/or complaints and compel witnesses to 
appear at any hearing. 

(c) Subpoenas shall be served in the same manner, and witnesses shall be entitled to the same 
fees, as in the case of subpoenas issued out ofthe Superior Court ofNew Jersey. 

(d) In the case of a failure of any person to comply with any subpoena issued under this 
subchapter or to testify with respect to any matter concerning which he or she may be lawfully 
interrogated, the Superior Court, on application of the Chief Administrator, may be requested to 
issue an order requiring the attendance of such person and the giving of testimony or production 
of evidence. Any person failing to obey the order of the court may be punished by the court for 
contempt. 

(e) In addition to the authority set forth in (a) above, New Jersey State Police officers, 
Department of Environmental Protection investigators and Division of Consumer Affairs 
investigators are hereby authorized to enforce the provisions of this subchapter. 

§ 13:20-43.28 Written notice of refusal to approve or withdrawal of approval; third 
party emission inspector training programs 

(a) The Chief Administrator shall notify the applicant, in writing by certified mail, of any 
refusal to approve a third party emission inspector training program and the grounds thereof. 
Written notice shall be mailed to the applicant at the address listed on the application or to the 
place of business on record with the Motor Vehicle Commission. 

(b) The Chief Administrator shall notify the third party emission inspector training program 
provider, in writing by certified mail, of any proposed withdrawal of approval of its emission 
inspector training program and the grounds thereof. Written notice shall be mailed to the place of 
business on record with the Motor Vehicle Commission. Unless the third party emission 
inspector training program files with the Chief Administrator a written request for a hearing in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.29, the emission inspector training program approval shall 
be withdrawn on the date specified in such notice. 

§ 13:20-43.29 Request for hearing; third party emission inspector training programs 

(a) If an applicant has been notified in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.28(a) that the Chief 
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Administrator refuses to approve a third party emission inspector training program, the applicant 
shall be entitled to an administrative hearing concerning such refusal provided that the applicant 
has filed and the Chief Administrator has received a written request for a hearing within 25 days. 
The 25-day period shall commence on the date such notice was mailed to the applicant by the 
Motor Vehicle Commission in accordance with N..J.A.C. 13:20-43.28(a). 

(b) If a third party emission inspector training program provider has been notified in 
accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.28(b) of a proposed withdrawal of approval of its emission 
inspector training program, the provider shall be entitled to an administrative hearing concerning 
such proposed withdrawal of approval provided that the emission inspector training program 
provider has tiled and the Chief Administrator has received a written request for a hearing within 
25 days. The 25-day period shall commence on the date such notice was mailed to the provider 
by the Motor Vehicle Commission in accordance with N.J.A.C. 13:20-43.28(b). 

(c) Any written request for a hearing by a third party emission inspector training program 
shall be sent to the Motor Vehicle Commission's Emission Inspector Training Program 
Approval Unit. The address of the Emission Inspector Training Program Approval Unit is Motor 
Vehicle Commission, 225 East State Street, PO Box 170, Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0170. The 
hearing request shall contain the following information: 

1. The name, certificate number, place of business and telephone number of the third party 
emission inspector training program; 

2. A concise statement of facts constituting each ground of defense; 

3. A specific admission, denial or explanation of each fact alleged by the Motor Vehicle 
Commission in its notice, or ifwithout knowledge thereof, a statement to that effect; any 
allegation in the Motor Vehicle Commission's notice which is not answered in accordance with 
this paragraph shall be deemed to have been admitted; and 

4. A statement requesting a hearing. 

(d) If the third party emission inspector training program provider does not tile a written 
request for a hearing in accordance with (a), (b) or (c) above, the withdrawal of approval ofthe 
emission inspector training program shall be effective on the date specified in such notice. The 
third party emission inspector training program provider shall cease all activities of the business 
of an emission inspector training program provider effective on the date specified in such notice. 

§ 13:20--B.30 Hearing procedures; third party emission inspector training programs 

Any hearing concerning the refusal to approve or the withdrawal of approval of a third party 
emission inspector training program shall be conducted in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52: 14B-1 et seq., and the Uniform Administrative Procedure Rules, 
N.J.A.C. 1:1. 
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