Jump to main content.

State Implementation Plans

A State Implementation Plan (SIP) is the federally approved and enforceable plan by which each state identifies how it will attain and/or maintain the health-related primary and welfare-related secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) described in Section 109 of the Clean Air Act (CAA) and 40 Code of Federal Regulations 50.4 through 50.12. It may be helpful to view a SIP as a state's blueprint for clean air. The process of developing a SIP starts when the state develops a draft SIP that contains control measures and strategies, proposes it in a public process, formally adopts it, and submits it to EPA by the Governor's designee. EPA must take formal rulemaking action to approve or disapprove a SIP, and once approved by EPA a SIP is included in the Code of Federal Regulations (Title 40, Part 52) and becomes federally enforceable. From time to time a state may choose to revise its SIP or EPA may require a state to revise its SIP. EPA is required to take rulemaking action on SIP revisions as well as SIPs.

The primary and secondary NAAQS that EPA established to protect public health and welfare, also known as criteria pollutants, include the following pollutants:

SIP documents contain a wide variety of information including air quality goals, measurements of air quality, emission inventories, modeling demonstrations, control strategies, evidence of public participation, and more. While EPA is working toward making SIP documents fully accessible electronically, our initial effort is focused on ensuring EPA-approved SIP regulations are available for each state, commonwealth or territory. Fully electronically accessible SIPs will become a reality for future SIP actions as EPA fully automates the rulemaking process through EDocket in the coming months. In the meantime, EPA will continue to present currently approved state regulations and add information to the site periodically.

SIPS Where You Live

Select the state or region of concern.

Map of the Regions


Region 1 - Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont
Region 2 - New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands
Region 3 - Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia
Region 4 - Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee
Region 5 - Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin
Region 6 - Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas
Region 7 - Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska
Region 8 - Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming
Region 9 - Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, and Pacific Islands and Tribal Nations subject to US law
Region 10 - Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington


Local Navigation

Jump to main content.