Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Area Designations for 1997 Fine Particle (PM2.5) Standards

April 2005 Changes

Information provided for informational purposes only Note: EPA no longer updates this information, but it may be useful for historical purposes. See the PM Designations Home Page for more recent information about PM Designations.

After Reviewing 2002 - 2004 Air Quality Data, Twelve Additional Areas now Meet National Air Quality Standards for Fine Particle Pollution

Eight areas previously identified as nonattainment may now be designated as attaining the standards.  These areas are comprised of 17 counties and are home to over 5 million people: 

State Area Name County
Alabama Columbus, GA-AL Russell
California San Diego, CA San Diego
Georgia Athens, GA Clarke
Georgia Columbus, GA-AL Muscogee
Indiana Elkhart, IN Elkhart
St. Joseph
Kentucky Lexington, KY Fayette
Mercer (partial)
Ohio Toledo, OH LucasWood
Ohio Youngstown-Warren, OH-PA Columbiana
Pennsylvania Youngstown-Warren, OH-PA Mercer
West Virginia Marion, WV Marion
Monongalia partial)
Harrison (partial)

Four areas identified in December 2004 as "unclassifiable" are now also designated as attainment.  These four single-county areas are home to 337,000 people.

State Area Name County
Alabama DeKalb County, AL DeKalb
Alabama Gadsden, AL Etowah
Indiana Muncie, IN Delaware
Tennessee McMinn County, TN McMinn

Jump to main content.