Jump to main content.

RCRA State Authorization

Related Links

Program Revision Documents

State Authorization Glossary

State Programs

State authorization is a rulemaking process through which the EPA delegates the primary responsibility of implementing the RCRA hazardous waste program to individual states in lieu of the EPA. This process ensures national consistency and minimum standards while providing flexibility to states in implementing rules. Currently, 50 states and territories have been granted authority to implement the base, or initial, program. Many are also authorized to implement additional parts of the RCRA program that the EPA has since promulgated, such as Corrective Action and the Land Disposal Restrictions. State RCRA programs must be at least as stringent as the federal requirements, but states can adopt more stringent requirements as well. The State Authorization Tracking System (StATS) provides the authorization status for all states. For a summary of terms used and topics covered at this website, scroll through State Authorization Terms and Topics.

For additional information, contact Wayne Roepe (roepe.wayne@epa.gov).

Items Posted as of June 30, 2015

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA's PDF page to learn more.

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.