

## PHIL BRYANT GOVERNOR

December 6, 2013

Dr. A. Stanley Meiburg
Acting Regional Administrator
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Region 4
61 Forsyth Street, S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Re: Mississippi Designation Recommendations for the 2012 Fine Particulate Matter Annual Average Standard

Dear Dr. Meiburg:

In accordance with the Federal Clean Air Act, I am writing to provide the recommendation for the State of Mississippi's designation for the Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) 2012 revised national ambient air quality annual average standard for fine particulate matter (PM<sub>2.5</sub>).

Based on 2010-2012 data, all Mississippi  $PM_{2.5}$  monitoring sites have attained the  $PM_{2.5}$  annual average standard of 12  $\mu$ g/m³. Therefore, it is recommended that the following monitored counties be designated as attainment: DeSoto, Forrest, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Jackson, Jones, Lauderdale, and Lee. Also, all other counties in Mississippi should be designated as unclassifiable/attainment. If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Trudy Fisher, Executive Director, Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality at 601-961-5000.

Sincerely

Phil Bryan Governor

cc: Ms. Trudy Fisher, Executive Director, MDEQ