Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Area Designations for 2006 24-Hour Fine Particle (PM2.5) Standards

2006 24-Hour PM2.5 Standards — Region 9 Final Designations, October 2009a

Boundary Designations for the 2006 PM2.5 Standards - EPA Region 9

Map showing counties designated nonattainment for PM2.5 December 22, 2008
Legend for map of EPA final designations

This table identifies all counties EPA has designated as nonattainment. In some cases EPA designated partial counties. These are identified by a (P). If a county is not listed below, EPA has designated it as unclassifiable/attainment.

State Area Name Counties
American Samoa Entire Territory is unclassifiable/attainment
Arizona Nogales, AZ Santa Cruz (P)
West Central Pinal Pinal (P)
California Chico, CA Butte (P)
Imperial County, CA Imperial (P)
Los Angeles-South Coast Air Basin, CA Los Angeles (P)
Riverside (P)
San Bernardino (P)
Sacramento, CA El Dorado (P)
Placer (P)
Solano (P)
Yolo (P)
San Francisco Bay Area, CA Alameda
Contra Costa
San Francisco
San Mateo
Santa Clara
Solano (P)
Sonoma (P)
San Joaquin Valley, CA Fresno
Kern (P)
San Joaquin
Yuba City-Marysville, CA Sutter
Yuba (P)
Guam Entire Territory is unclassifiable/attainment
Hawaii Entire State is unclassifiable/attainment
Nevada Entire State is unclassifiable/attainment
Northern Marianas Islands Entire Commonwealth is unclassifiable/attainment

aFinal designation for Pinal County, Arizona was announced in January 2011

< Back to US map

Recommendations from Region 9 States and EPA Responses

Region 9 Area Status December 2008 (Not Final)

Jump to main content.