Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Oil and Natural Gas Air Pollution Standards


Small Business Compliance Guide
August 3, 2016 - EPA is releasing a compliance guide to assist small businesses in understanding the requirements of the 2016 New Source Performance Standards for the Oil and Natural Gas Industry. The rule became effective August 2, 2016.

Manufacturer-Tested Combustion Control Devices
Updated March 2016 -  List of combustion control device models that have been tested by the manufacturer (PDF) (3pp, 148k) 

Notification Requirement for Well Completions Begins October 15, 2012

Beginning October 15, 2012, gas well completion notification provisions under EPA's 2012 oil and gas standards take effect. Companies can meet this provision by complying with state advance notification requirements. If a state does not have an advance notification requirement, companies must inform EPA no later than two days before the well completion using hydraulic fracturing begins. Companies may submit this notification electronically or in writing. EPA finalized this approach after receiving feedback from industry, states and others during the 100-day public comment period. Companies have until 2015 to meet the green completion requirements in the final rule.

On August 16, 2012, EPA published the notification requirement in Oil and Natural Gas Sector: New Source Performance Standards and National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants Reviews; Final Rule (PDF) (112pp, 1.0 MB). Owners or operators that need to notify EPA may send a notification email to the appropriate region at the address listed below.

  • Region 1: none (No fracturing anticipated)
    Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont and Tribal Nations
  • Region 2: r2wellcompletion@epa.gov
    New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands and Tribal Nations
  • Region 3: r3wellcompletion@epa.gov
    Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia
  • Region 4: r4wellcompletion@epa.gov
    Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Tribal Nations
  • Region 5: r5wellcompletion@epa.gov
    Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin and Tribal Nations
  • Region 6: r6wellcompletion@epa.gov
    Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Texas and Tribal Nations
  • Region 7: r7wellcompletion@epa.gov
    Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and Tribal Nations
  • Region 8: r8wellcompletion@epa.gov
    Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming and Tribal Nations
  • Region 9: r9wellcompletion@epa.gov
    Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, the Pacific Islands, and Tribal Nations
  • Region 10: r10wellcompletion@epa.gov
    Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington and Tribal Nations

Letters Seeking Clarification of Requirements



Jump to main content.