Green Book

You are here: EPA Home > Green Book > 8-Hour Ozone (2008) Design Value Notes

8-Hour Ozone (2008) Notes

Return to Report

Check the Air Quality Design Value site for design value updates.

  1. The level of the 2008 NAAQS for 8-Hour Ozone is 0.075 ppm.

  2. For the 8-Hour Ozone (2008) NAAQS areas, most were designated based on 2008-2010 design values, some States certified the 2009-2011 design values early so that more recent data could be used in designation decisions.

  3. The The designated nonattainment areas for the 2008 and 1997 8-Hour Ozone NAAQS have the same geographic boundaries except for the following differences:

    1. 8-Hour Ozone (2008) nonattainment areas smaller than the 8-Hour Ozone (1997) nonattainment areas:
      • Atlanta, GA
      • Calaverus Co, CA (part of the Amador and Calaveras Cos (Central Mtn), CA 1997 8-Hour Ozone area)
      • Charlotte-Rock Hill, NC-SC
      • Cincinnati, OH-KY-IN
      • Dukes Co, MA (part of the Boston-Lawrence-Worcester (E. MA), MA 1997 8-Hour Ozone area)
      • Knoxville, TN
      • Mariposa Co, CA (part of the Mariposa and Tuolumne Cos (Southern Mtn), CA 1997 8-Hour Ozone area)
      • Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City, PA-NJ-MD-DE (Sussex Co, DE is part of the Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City, PA-NJ-MD-DE 1997 Ozone area, but with Sussex Co separated into the separate Seaford, DE 2008 Ozone area)
      • St. Louis-St. Charles-Farmington, MO-IL (part of the St Louis, MO-IL 1997 Ozone area)

    2. 8-Hour Ozone (2008) nonattainment areas larger than the 8-Hour Ozone (1997) nonattainment areas:
      • Chicago-Naperville, IL-IN-WI (compared to the Chicago-Gary-Lake County, IL-IN 1997 8-Hour Ozone area
      • Dallas-Fort Worth, TX
      • Memphis, TN-MS-AR (compared to the Memphis, TN-AR 1997 8-Hour Ozone area)
      • Phoenix-Mesa, AZ

    3. New 8-Hour Ozone (2008) nonattainment areas:
      • San Luis Obispo (Eastern San Luis Obispo), CA
      • Tuscan Buttes, CA
      • Upper Green River Basin Area, WY

    4. Newly divided Tribal areas (divided from Los Angeles South Coast Air Basin 1997 8-Hour Ozone area):
      • Morongo Band of Mission Indians
      • Pechanga Band of Luiseno Mission Indians of the Pechanga Reservation