Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Green Book Nonattainment Areas

Classifications of 1-Hour Ozone (1979) Nonattainment Areas - NAAQS Revoked

As of June 15, 2005
View Notes
     Los Angeles South Coast Air Basin, CA
     San Joaquin Valley, CA
     Chicago-Gary-Lake County, IL-IN
     Houston-Galveston-Brazoria, TX
     Milwaukee-Racine, WI
     Morongo Band of Mission Indians
     New York-N. New Jersey-Long Island, NY-NJ-CT
     Southeast Desert Modified AQMA, CA
     Baltimore, MD
     Baton Rouge, LA
     Philadelphia-Wilmington-Trenton, PA-NJ-DE-MD
     Sacramento Metro, CA
     Ventura Co, CA
     Washington, DC-MD-VA
     Beaumont-Port Arthur, TX
     Boston-Lawrence-Worcester (E. MA), MA-NH
     Dallas-Fort Worth, TX
     El Paso, TX
     Greater Connecticut, CT
     Portsmouth-Dover-Rochester, NH
     Providence (All RI), RI
     Springfield (Western MA), MA
     Atlantic City, NJ
     Knox & Lincoln Co.s, ME
     Lewiston-Auburn, ME
     Portland, ME
     Poughkeepsie, NY
     Albany-Schenectady-Troy, NY
     Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ
     Altoona, PA
     Buffalo-Niagara Falls, NY
     Erie, PA
     Harrisburg-Lebanon-Carlisle, PA
     Jefferson Co, NY
     Johnstown, PA
     Lancaster, PA
     Manchester, NH
     Reno, NV
     Scranton-Wilkes-Barre, PA
     Sunland Park, NM (New Area 1995)
     Sussex Co, DE
     York, PA
     Youngstown-Warren-Sharon, PA portion
     Essex Co, NY
     Smyth Co, VA (White Top Mtn)
     San Francisco Bay Area, CA


Section 185A and Incomplete Areas Not Included. "Section 185A" was previously called "Transitional".

On July 10, 1998 (63 FR 37258), EPA published the final rule redesignating the San Francisco Bay Area to nonattainment with the federal 1-Hour Ozone NAAQS. EPA did not assign the Bay Area a classification. Then on July 22, 1999 (64 FR 39416) EPA published a final rule assigning the area a nonattainment classification on moderate for purposes of funding appropriation under the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA 21), Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality improvement Program (CMAQ) only.

The former 1-Hour Ozone designations and classifications as of June 15, 2004, are being retained in subpart C of Part 81 for purposes of the anti backsliding provisions of 40 CFR 51.905. 40 CFR 51.905(c) references subpart C of part 81 for the areas affected by the anti-backsliding regulation.

78 FR 58189, effective 10/23/2013, corrected a boundary for the land of the Morongo Band of Mission Indians, located near Banning Pass in Riverside County, identifying it as a separately designated Severe-17 area for the 1-Hour Ozone standard, independent of the Los Angeles-South Coast Air Basin Area.

Jump to main content.