Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Green Book Nonattainment Areas

1-Hour Ozone (1979) Section 185A Maintenance Areas - NAAQS Revoked

As of June 15, 2005

Clinton Co, OH
Flint, MI
Jacksonville, FL
Lafayette, LA
New Orleans, LA
Preble Co, OH
Steubenville, OH

"Section 185A" was previously called "Transitional". The former 1-Hour Ozone designations and classifications as of June 15, 2004, are being retained in subpart C of Part 81 for purposes of the anti backsliding provisions of 40 CFR 51.905. 40 CFR 51.905(c) references subpart C of part 81 for the areas affected by the anti-backsliding regulation.

Two 1-Hour Ozone Maintenance Areas (that were previously nonattainment areas) became Early Action Compact (EAC) areas. As EAC areas, their maintenance plans no longer applied, and they are not listed in the “Previous Maintenance Areas No Longer Subject to the 1-Hour Standard” reports. The areas are: Greensboro Winston Salem High Point, NC (initially classified as a Moderate 1-Hour Ozone area), and Denver Boulder, CO (initially classified as a Section 185 1-Hour Ozone area).

Jump to main content.