Green Book

You are here: EPA Home > Green Book > 8-Hour Ozone (1997) Nonattainment Areas - NAAQS Revoked

8-Hour Ozone (1997) Nonattainment Areas - NAAQS Revoked

Data is current as of April 30, 2022
View Notes
The 1997 8-hour Ozone NAAQS was revoked effective April 6, 2015 (80 FR 12264).

EXTREME (June 2024)
Los Angeles-South Coast Air Basin, CA
Riverside Co. (Coachella Valley), CA
San Joaquin Valley, CA
SEVERE 17 (June 2021)
Morongo Band of Mission Indians
SEVERE 15 (June 2019)
Houston-Galveston-Brazoria, TX
Los Angeles-San Bernardino Cos. (W Mojave Desert), CA
Sacramento Metro, CA
SERIOUS (June 2013)
Baltimore, MD
Dallas-Fort Worth, TX
Ventura Co, CA
MODERATE (June 2010)
Amador and Calaveras Cos. (Central Mountain Cos.), CA
Boston-Lawrence-Worcester (E. Mass), MA
Buffalo-Niagara Falls, NY
Greater Connecticut, CT
Imperial Co, CA
Inland Sheboygan County, WI
Jamestown, NY
Jefferson Co, NY
Kern Co (Eastern Kern), CA
Mariposa and Tuolumne Cos (Southern Mtn), CA
Nevada Co. (Western part), CA
New York-N. New Jersey-Long Island, NY-NJ-CT
Philadelphia-Wilmington-Atlantic City, PA-NJ-MD-DE
Pittsburgh-Beaver Valley, PA
Poughkeepsie, NY
Providence (all of RI), RI
Shoreline Sheboygan County, WI
Springfield (W. Mass), MA
Washington, DC-MD-VA
MARGINAL (June 2007)
Albany-Schenectady-Troy, NY
Chico, CA
Denver-Boulder-Greeley-Ft. Collins-Loveland, CO
Essex Co (Whiteface Mtn), NY
Rochester, NY
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Sutter Co (Sutter Buttes), CA


Details about the designations and classifications of previous 1-hour ozone nonattainment and maintenance areas can be found here.

On June 8, 2007, the United States Court of Appeals vacated the Subpart 1 portion of the Phase 1 Rule (Court Order) (PDF). On May 14, 2012, the Former Subpart 1 nonattainment areas were classified under Subpart 2 (77 FR 28424 ) (PDF), effective June 13, 2012.

Go Top