Green Book

You are here: EPA Home > Green Book > Areas With a Maintenance Plan Requirement Under Section 110(A)(1) of the CAA

Areas with a Maintenance Plan Requirement Under Section 110(a)(1) of the CAA

Data is current as of June 15, 2005


Boston-Lawrence-Worcester (E. MA), MA-NH
East Kern Co, CA
El Paso, TX
Portsmouth-Dover-Rochester, NH
San Diego, CA
Santa Barbara-Santa Maria-Lompoc, CA


Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY
Knox & Lincoln Co.s, ME
Lewiston-Auburn, ME
Miami-Fort Lauderdale-W. Palm Beach, FL
Monterey Bay, CA
Portland, ME
Salt Lake City, UT


Cherokee Co, SC
Edmonson Co, KY
Greenbrier Co, WV
Hancock & Waldo Cos, ME
Johnstown, PA
Lake Charles, LA
Lexington-Fayette, KY
Manchester, NH
Owensboro, KY
Paducah, KY
Pointe Coupee Parish, LA
Portland-Vancouver AQMA, OR-WA
Reno, NV
Scranton-Wilkes-Barre, PA
Seattle-Tacoma, WA
Smyth Co, VA (White Top Mtn)
Sunland Park, NM (New Area 1995)
Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater, FL
Walworth Co, WI

Kansas City, MO-KS
Greensboro-Winston Salem-High Point, NC
Nashville, TN

The 1-Hour Ozone standard, as well as designations and classifications for all 1-Hour Ozone nonattainment and maintenance areas, have been revoked except for the Greensboro, NC, Nashville, TN, and Denver, CO maintenance areas.

The Kansas City, MO-KS area has a sub-marginal classification. The former 1-Hour Ozone designations and classifications as of June 15, 2004, are being retained in subpart C of Part 81 for purposes of the anti backsliding provisions of 40 CFR 51.905. 40 CFR 51.905(c) references subpart C of part 81 for the areas affected by the anti-backsliding regulation. These classifications are either the nonattainment or maintenance classifications as of June 14, 2004.

The Nashville, TN and Greensboro-Winston Salem-High Point, NC 1-Hour Ozone maintenance areas were Early Action Compact (EAC) areas. The 1-Hour standard was revoked for the EAC areas on April 15, 2009, one year after the effective date (April 15, 2008) of their designation as attainment for the 8-Hour Ozone standard. At that time, the Nashville, TN and Greensboro-Winston Salem-High Point, NC areas were required to submit a 10-year maintenance plan under section 110(a)(1) of the CAA and the Phase 1 Rule.