Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Technology Transfer Network
National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS)

Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2) Primary Standards

The Clean Air Act requires EPA to set national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) for nitrogen oxides and five other pollutants considered harmful to public health and the environment (the other pollutants are ozone, particulate matter, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide, and lead). The law also requires EPA to periodically review the standards to ensure that they provide adequate health and environmental protection, and to update those standards as necessary. Learn more about the NAAQS review process.

Contact: Jennifer Nichols

Documents from Current Review

Basic Information on NO2

Documents from Review Completed in 2010

Documents from Review Completed in 1996

Documents from Previous Reviews

Table of Current NAAQS

Table of Historical NO2 NAAQS

Air Quality Index


File Utilities

Jump to main content.