Jump to main content.

Air Permits

The Clean Air Act requires two basic types of air pollution permits: construction permits and operating permits. This website provides information concerning permits for Region 5 sources. This includes access to electronic copies of permits, Region 5 correspondence, and an overview of the Clean Air Act permit requirements.

The six Region 5 States have the authority to issue the air pollution permits required by the Clean Air Act. Included on this website are Federal Register notices approving the States' authority and links to the State permitting agency websites.

Region 5 Permit Documents

Electronic permits online

View and Download Permits - Electronic access to air permits for Region 5 sources

Federal Register Notices: EPA regulatory action concerning State authorities to issue permits

Permit Programs

Other Links

Air Toxics (Hazardous Air Pollutants or HAPs)

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.