Jump to main content.


Considering Environmental Justice in Permitting

You will need Adobe Reader to view some of the files on this page. See EPA's PDF page to learn more.

Overview

EPA has completed its commitments under Plan EJ 2014 to create a foundation to meaningfully and consistently consider EJ in the permitting process. The EJ and Permitting Initiative consisted of two phases. Phase I focused on enabling overburdened communities to have full and meaningful access to the permitting process. Phase II focused on addressing EJ issues in EPA-issued permits to the greatest extent practicable under existing environmental laws.

During the next phase, EPA will test the draft framework and analytic tools internally, along with robust engagement with our regulatory partners and external stakeholders. Our goals are to develop cross-agency communities of practice to help test the tools and evaluate and improve the framework and analytic tools in light of lessons learned and stakeholder in-put. This two-year process will last between FY 2015-FY 2017, with implementation of the improved tools expected to begin at the end of that process.

Read the implementation plan on permitting (PDF) (20 pp, 804K).

Top of Page

Outcomes

Top of Page

Regional Implementation Plans and Contacts

Region Plan Contact
1 PDF (5 pp, 60K) Amy Braz (braz.amy@epa.gov)
617-918-1346
2 PDF (11 pp, 206K) Anhthu Hoang (hoang.anhthu@epa.gov)
212-637-5033
3 PDF (7 pp, 141K) Reginald Harris (harris.reggie@epa.gov)
215-814-2988
4 PDF (7 pp, 93K) Heather Ceron (ceron.heather@epa.gov)
404-562-9185
5 PDF (5 pp, 115K) Lara Lasky (lasky.lara@epa.gov)
312-353-5614
6 PDF (6 pp, 99K) Israel Anderson (anderson.israel@epa.gov)
214-665-3138
7 PDF (6 pp, 115K) Tamara Freeman (freeman.tamara@epa.gov)
913-551-7094
8 PDF (7 pp, 73K) Callie Videtich (videtich.callie@epa.gov)
303-312-6434
9 PDF (9 pp, 91K) Richard Grow (grow.richard@epa.gov)
415-972-4104
10 PDF (16 pp, 204K) Running Grass (grass.running@epa.gov)
206-553-2899

Top of Page

 


Local Navigation


Jump to main content.