(217) 782-3397

December 18, 2007

Mary Gade, Regional Administrator Office of the Regional Administrator USEPA Region 5, R19J 77 West Jackson Boulevard Chicago, IL 60604-3507

Dear Ms. Gade:

On behalf of Governor Blagojevich and in response to your letter of July 9, 2007, I am submitting our recommendations for attainment/nonattainment designations for the 24-hour PM2.5 National Ambient Air Quality Standard for the State of Illinois. Also included with Illinois' recommendations is a support document prepared by the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA). The IEPA will also provide this document to your staff in electronic format to facilitate your timely review.

Specifically, the following designations are recommended for Illinois:

Cook	Nonattainment	Chicago
DuPage	Nonattainment	Chicago
Kane	Nonattainment	Chicago
Lake	Nonattainment	Chicago
Will	Nonattainment	Chicago
McHenry	Nonattainment	Chicago
Kendall: Oswego Township All Other Townships	Nonattainment Attainment	Chicago
Grundy: Aux Sable Township Goose Lake Township All Other Townships	Nonattainment Nonattainment Attainment	Chicago Chicago
Madison	Nonattainment	Metro-East
Monroe	Nonattainment	Metro-East
St. Clair	Nonattainment	Metro-East

Randolph:		
Baldwin Township	Nonattainment	Metro-East
(also known as Baldwin		
Precinct), east of the		
Kaskaskia River		
All Other Townships	Attainment	
All Other Counties	Attainment	

We are recommending that portions of the Chicago and Metro-East metropolitan areas be designated as nonattainment for the 24-hour PM2.5 National Ambient Air Quality Standard. These areas, with the exception of Randolph County, are the same areas currently designated nonattainment for the annual PM2.5 standard. As violations of the 24-hour and annual PM2.5 standards have been measured in these areas, designating them as nonattainment is appropriate. The remainder of Illinois is attaining the PM2.5 standards and should, therefore, be designated as attainment.

If there are any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Doug Scott Director

cc: Steve Rothblatt, Chief
Air and Radiation Division
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 5

File:G:/rob/PM2.5- 24-hr letter-nonattainment-designations (Dec 07)