Jump to main content.

Previous Section 185A Maintenance Areas No Longer Subject to the 1-hour Standard

As of June 15, 2005

Areas Listed Alphabetically Design
State Located
in a
Clinton Co, OH 0.121 0.7 1 41 5 OH no
Flint, MI 0.124 1.0 1 436 5 MI msa
Jacksonville, FL 0.119 0.7 1 779 4 FL msa
Lafayette, LA 0.105 0.0 1 191 6 LA msa
New Orleans, LA 0.121 0.4 4 1,055 6 LA msa
Preble Co, OH 0.118 0.3 1 42 5 OH no
Steubenville, OH 0.118 0.3 1 74 5 OH msa
7 Total Areas 10 2,618  

"Section 185A" was previously called "Transitional". Prior designation retained by operation of law in 1991 but without measured violation based on 1987-89 data. Totals were adjusted to account for multiple areas in a single county. The former 1-hour ozone designations and classifications as of June 15, 2004, are being retained in subpart C of Part 81 for purposes of the anti backsliding provisions of 40 CFR 51.905. 40 CFR 51.905(c) references subpart C of part 81 for the areas affected by the anti-backsliding regulation.

Two 1-hour Ozone Maintenance Areas (that were previously nonattainment areas) became Early Action Compact (EAC) areas. As EAC areas, their maintenance plans no longer applied, and they are not listed in the “Previous Maintenance Areas No Longer Subject to the 1-hour Standard” reports. The areas are: Greensboro Winston Salem High Point, NC (initially classified as a Moderate 1-hour Ozone area), and Denver Boulder, CO (initially classified as a Section 185 1-hour Ozone area).

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.