Jump to main content.

Previous Maintenance Areas No Longer Subject to the 1-hour Standard

As of June 15, 2005

Classification No. Areas No. Counties 2000

Severe (2005) 1 13 3,699
Serious 5 12 8,836
Moderate 22 74 26,033
Marginal 25 52 14,645
Other 1 5 1,522
   SUBTOTAL: 54 156 54,735
Section 185A 7 10 2,618
Incomplete Data 9 11 922
   SUBTOTAL: 16 21 3,540

   GRAND TOTAL: 70 177 58,275

County and area subtotals and grand totals may not equal sum of parts. Part counties are only counted one time within groupings, and only if the county is not in a previous nonattainment area for the pollutant. So Kern Co is not counted, since it is in the East Kern Co previous maintenance area and in the San Joaquin Valley previous nonattainment area.

The Ohio portion of the Youngstown-Warren-Sharon OH-PA area is a previous maintenance area, while the Pennsylvania portion remains previous nonattainment. This report does not count the partially redesignated areas.

"Section 185A" was previously called "Transitional". The former 1-hour ozone designations and classifications as of June 15, 2004, are being retained in subpart C of Part 81 for purposes of the anti backsliding provisions of 40 CFR 51.905. 40 CFR 51.905(c) references subpart C of part 81 for the areas affected by the anti-backsliding regulation.

Two 1-hour Ozone Maintenance Areas (that were previously nonattainment areas) became Early Action Compact (EAC) areas. As EAC areas, their maintenance plans no longer applied, and they are not listed in the “Previous Maintenance Areas No Longer Subject to the 1-hour Standard” reports. The areas are: Greensboro Winston Salem High Point, NC (initially classified as a Moderate 1-hour Ozone area), and Denver Boulder, CO (initially classified as a Section 185 1-hour Ozone area).

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.